Doctors Appointments And Other Such Things

On Friday, I thought we had thrush again. I called and talked to a nurse on the phone figuring she’d say “oh yeah, that’s thrush, go ahead and treat her” or “no, not thrush,” but I definitely didn’t think she’d say “I don’t know we should probably see her asap.” So she made her an appointment for 7:30 that evening in the Layton office. I don’t know if I was being overly paranoid, but I started freaking out about taking her in to the big office with all the kids when all of these diseases are going around right now. I was able to come back from the almost-panic-attack and decide to re-schedule the appointment for Monday.

So we went in to see our pediatrician on Monday in the nice, little Syracuse office. At 6 weeks and 3 days, she weighed 9 lbs 15 oz (which is great) and had no thrush. Guess it’s a good thing I didn’t treat her. He didn’t really give an explanation for why she’s pulling off my breast and I didn’t press him for one because I think it might be more of a La Leche League thing. Beyond that, her balding is normal, we could try eliminating things from my diet to see if it helps with the spit up though it’s really only an aesthetic problem so I probably won’t, the coughing is probably just choking on spit up, and we talked about vaccines for the next visit.

Oh, the dreaded vaccines. Quite honestly, I thought he got on the defensive a little even though Curtis doesn’t agree. I asked him if he’s okay with a modified schedule of still doing all the vaccines, just spreading them out a bit (coming in on off months for “shot only” visits) and he started off saying that the vaccines are tested in the normal schedule… kind of implying that they might not be as effective if we didn’t do them “correctly.” After a bit of prodding, he said that there is really no health risk for doing them spread out, just the risk that we’ll miss one. Then I asked if we can request specific vaccines–that one was a big N-O. He explained it as they have contracts with the companies and yadda-yadda-yadda. They don’t have anything at all from GlaxoSmithKline (I think that’s correct), which doesn’t bother me at all since none of my preferred list is from them. He said that I can call and see which vaccines they have available. I’m going to do that probably tomorrow.

I’m feeling really conflicted about the vaccines. I mean, I realize most kids go through the regular schedule and do just fine, but I’m kind of just trying to be on the safe side. I mean, I’m not going to miss a vaccine. I’m just too anal retentive to do that. And I guess it’s not the end of the world if we don’t get the specific best shots, I mean, we can work around it. I would just hate it if something happened that seemed linked to the vaccine and I felt like only if I’d done it differently.

Also, medicaid hasn’t sent us the May card yet. I really need to call them about it tomorrow.

Lastly, pants. I was so happy to fit into my pre-pregnancy jeans so soon, but apparently they weren’t happy about it. They ripped today. I’m not sure if it’s an already worn about thing or if my thighs got huge. I don’t think my thighs got huge…

Night.

One thought on “Doctors Appointments And Other Such Things

  1. Pingback: Peanut’s Vaccine Schedule « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

