Offense Taken

So I was checking out Mothering Magazine trying to decide if I want to get a subscription. On the little sidebar of their site was an ad for Momzelle. Looked like an interesting spin on nursing clothing, so I decided to take a look. Here is the little blurb that they had on their front page.

momzelle

“oh no, let’s not see some indecent bare breast or an ugly postpartum belly!”

“There is no need to show your tummy in order to feed your precious milk to your baby, with Momzelle nursing clothing you can be both a wonderful Mom and a beautiful woman.”

Am I crazy to take offense? I don’t think so. Indecent bare breast? How dare they! I am feeding my child and a company that caters towards breastfeeding moms should be the last to call anything I’m doing indecent. Am I not a beautiful woman if I don’t cover my indecent bare breasts and ugly postpartum belly?

I admit, I wear a nursing tank top. I do that because I chose to wear one. There is no law that a woman can not expose her stomach or breasts while breastfeeding. Actually, in my state there are laws that say I can.

So I decided to write Momzelle (with carbon copy to Mothering magazine).

momzelle2

I hope that both sites take what I say to heart. I am truly concerned at what their language implies.

2 thoughts on “Offense Taken

  1. Dear LactagingGirl, thank you for bringing this to my attention, the offensive wording was meant to be humoristic, I am sorry you were offended by it and please accept my apologies. I can see see how it could be misunderstood so the words were removed from the website. Breastfeeding mothers are beautiful, whether they use a nursing top or not !

Leave a Reply

