Newsletter – 6 Months

Peanut, you are 6 months old today. That is half a year. Wow, that’s so weird to say. You have been alive for half of a year. That’s practically a century, right?

Of course the big thing people keep asking me lately is if you have started solid foods. By the way, when these people say “solid foods” they mean this awful, bland mush stuff that parents shove down their kid’s throats and call food. Don’t worry, you won’t be eating any of that stuff. Mommy has been having a lot of internal conflicts with when to start you on non-milk (mommy doesn’t call it real food because that implies that breast milk is fake food). The recommendation is at least 6 months old, but a lot of research is saying that there are benefits for waiting even longer. On the other hand, you are doing all of the signs–such as sitting up, which you are doing like a champ–that you’re ready for non-milk food. The plan is to give you the option to eat (through Baby-led Weaning) and if for some reason it doesn’t seem like the right thing, we’ll just go back to the bewbies.

Did I mention that you are practically crawling?!?! I don’t know what’s up with the sudden need for milestones, but you’re up on all fours and rocking back and forth every time I set you on your belly. You’ve also figured out that you can actually pull blankets off your head. Before you would lay on your back, I would drop a blanket on your head, and you would roll over to get it off. It was really cute. Now, I drop that same blanket on your head and you rip it off with such a vigor that says Woman! How dare you put this foul object onto my precious face? Be gone with you!

You love daddy blowing on your face. You laugh so hard– but only at 7pm Mountain Standard Time and only for about 5 minutes. After that, you start giving us this look like What are you doing? You seriously think that’s funny? I’m bored now. Can you stop? You also love me chomping on your cheeks and saying “rawr rawr rawr” like I’m eating you, but of course only at exactly 7pm. If I do it any other time of the day you just stare at me with pity and annoyance.

You had your first real illness this month. I thought you were kind of sick around the 2 month mark for just a couple days, but that was nothing in comparison to this. You have been a grouchy goose. I wasn’t aware that such a vast amount of snot resided in your nostrils. If I didn’t know better, I would say that you’re shipping it in from neutral countries to fuel the war. The War of the Sickness. This war has greatly disrupted our sleeping schedule–which has caused many casualties within itself. You don’t want to go to sleep, then you wake up every two hours, then you wake up at 8am and scratch my face because crying like a normal baby just doesn’t suit you, you must scratch mommy until she wakes up wondering why her face burns.

I love you and this wonderful year and a half we’ve had. Mommy *bounces thumb of open hand on chin twice* loves you *shows you front side of hand with thumb, index, and pinkie fingers up* and Daddy *bounces thumb of open hand on forehead twice* loves you *shows you front side of hand with thumb, index, and pinkie fingers up*

5 thoughts on “Newsletter – 6 Months

  1. print this off now for the tangible baby book. you might forget later and this is just too sweet and too precious to lose track of. Dea will appreciate being able to read it when she’s older. She’ll love it when she’s five, and she’ll hate it when she’s 15, find it amusing at 20, and cherish it more and more with every passing year beyond.
    my four month old has decided to introduce himself to ~”solid” food by snitchin’ my ice cream while i was looking the other way. nonetheless, we intend to wait, dang it.

    • I know where you’re coming from because Dea has been trying to steal my food since she realized it was there. I intend on saving all of these for her in a scrapbook… once I get around to making the scrapbook. πŸ˜›

  2. This is so awesome. I REALLY wish my mom had done something like this for me. It would be amazing to have now that she’s gone. Dea will love it. πŸ™‚

    • I wish I would have been better about it when she was younger. It was my intent to make one every month, but I think she got one around 2 months, 4 months, 5 months, and now 6 months.

Leave a Reply

