Yogurt with a Spoon!!!

What? Baby-led weaners can eat from spoons?!?!?? I know, I was surprised too. Actually, this might sound ridiculous, but I thought that baby-led weaning=spoons are the devil. This becomes a problem when you realize that some foods are best left for spoons. I can’t say I’d be very happy if I had to eat my ice cream with my hands. Also, not to say that baby-led weaning is at all tidy, things that require spoons are much more messy without a spoon.

So, yogurt!

IMG_0733

There is a difference between traditional spoon use and what we do. I do not stick the spoon in Peanut’s mouth. The spoon goes in front of her mouth and she chooses to (or not to) take the stuff off the spoon.

IMG_0734

We like yogurt!

IMG_0736

I decided to let Peanut use the spoon herself today.

IMG_0739

Messy, but we know which end goes in the mouth!

IMG_0701

It’s pretty similar to how we do water. The Baby-led Weaning book seems to say that we should just give her the cup and let her go at it, but she just kept tipping it over so I decided to try something different. First we did sippy cups, but I quickly realized that it was a completely different thing from drinking out of a real cup, so we gave up on those. I decided that helping her drink it would be the best. I hold it up to her and she drinks out of it. We’re ordering a Doidy cup online that I’m going to let her try herself now that she understands how water works.

2 thoughts on “Yogurt with a Spoon!!!

  1. Pingback: Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays: Spoons « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

