Baby-led Weaning Wednesday: Illness

Sorry for the delay in my Wednesday post. I was busy mourning my friend Rachel and forgot to post yesterday.

How does your baby-led weaner handle being sick?

Peanut had her first real illness this past week. Her temperature got as high as 102.2 and we talked to a nurse on the phone twice. The nurse was pretty sure it was just an ear infection and mild enough that Peanut could handle it and she was right. Peanut is now has no fever and is back to her happy little self.

She was pretty upset during those few days of sickness though. She wanted to breastfeed constantly and pretty much didn’t want solids at all. This. Is. Normal. We just kept offering her foods and she would play with them a bit or just get angry and throw them on the floor. Sometimes she would eat a bit, but it was almost like we were back in the beginning stages of food just being a toy.

It’s also not abnormal if your baby wants to eat the same or more solids when sick. Every baby reacts differently to sickness and every baby reacts differently to each different sickness. Just make sure they get plenty of liquids (including water, which Peanut just drank up like crazy) and they should be fine.

Here are some interesting things to note about my call with the nurse and what she said about temperature. 1) Temperature does help the body fight off disease, but above 102 it isn’t really helping anymore. This was helpful to me because I wanted to know a limit on when I really should give her a fever reducer. I wanted to avoid it if at all possible and I was able to (I didn’t know this handy advice when her fever was above 102). 2) If babe has a fever over 103.5, they need to go into the doctor. 3) If babe has a fever for more than 48 hours, you should at least talk to a nurse on the phone.

Though Peanut is feeling better, she still isn’t 100% back on solids. I’m guessing it will just take her time to get back into her food routine—just like it does for her sleeping routine and her mommy not wanting to give her away routine (just joking on that last one).

Photo by mandycapes on photobucket.

6 thoughts on “Baby-led Weaning Wednesday: Illness

  1. Claire,
    Just saw your website off your facebook page…you probably don’t know me but I had to comment. Your father-in-law is my husband’s uncle. I just have to say I’m sooo glad to know a Losee that believes in breastfeeding, co-sleeping and being a holistic mommy. I wish I had your confidence when breastfeeding my children around family. I seem to handle things better from strangers than from family. Luckily, both my children haven’t had a problem with being covered up in public or around family. Wait until your little one wants to talk to you while nursing (she may already do that).

    I have one question for you, just out of curiousity, when you do plan to “wean” your little one? I haven’t really heard of the baby-led weaning before but from what I gather from your blog it’s what we did – it seemed more natural to us. I haven’t read up on the baby-led weaning method but is there an actual weaning method? My daughter was easy to wean – she decided one day she was done and that was that. She was 3.5 years old though. My son though is completely different. I’m actually starting to read up on weaning as Josiah shows no signs of slowing down (he’ll be 4 in March and if you think nursing an infant in public draws comments try nursing a 3.5 year old who likes like he’s older). Anyway, I like what I’ve read on your blog so far and thought I’d ask you as you seem to be the only “family” member who is pro breastfeeding:). Thanks! Rebekah Losee (John’s my husband. Curtis knows John. I think I met Curtis a couple of times but he was still in high school back then:).

    • Baby-led weaning is more weaning from exclusively breastfed into solid foods. Really, Dea still gets most of her nutrition from breast milk rather than the traditional methods that switch over to most from solids. I don’t really have any plans when it comes to weaning. Every child is different in when they are ready to stop and I think it’s unfair to take away such comfort to them before they’re ready. That said, I’ve heard many women talk in La Leche League about distracting a toddler when they want to nurse. If you don’t mind still nursing, but want to limit the amount that you’re doing then that is an option. I’ve also heard of many moms weaning entirely by distraction.

      You should find a La Leche League in your area if you already haven’t and I’m sure that moms would love to share their weaning experience with you. I know a lot of women feel awkward asking a breastfeeding group about how to stop breastfeeding, but it’s a natural part of the breastfeeding relationship.

      I’m also happy to find someone in the family who doesn’t think I’m crazy. Curtis’s parents are pretty good about all of the attachment parenting stuff, but I can tell that they don’t like certain aspects of it (like co-sleeping for instance). We should get together the next time you’re in town.

      • So I shouldn’t type when I’m sleep deprived…I meant Lindstrom not Losee. Ooops.

        Curtis’ parents have always been great with us. We don’t get to see them that often but enjoy the visits when we do. If you guys ever make it to the D.C. area you are welcome here. One of these days we may make it back to UT for a visit but so far airline fare is going up not down.

        Thanks for your suggestions. I haven’t found a La leche league here but I may have to try that. Rebekah

      • I understood what you meant when you said Losee. I also wasn’t saying that Curtis’s parents are bad at all, just that sometimes we disagree in our parenting philosophies, but I disagree with my parents too and really even other attachment parents won’t parent just like us so there will be disagreements.

        Good luck with La Leche League. I really love going to mine. It’s nice to just be in a room full of nursing moms rather than all of the bottle feeding I see when I’m out an about.

  2. You don’t know me as well, I found you in a search. I am late at night because my nursling does not want to sleep.

    I too am another believer in CLW, right now at 2.5 my little girl does not show any signs of stopping soon 🙂

    I loved what you wrote here, I often find I have to tell people it’s ok that she nurses more and eats less. I have to tell them when you are sick or have the flu what does your doctor say… Drink liquids and eat something light if you can.

    • Breast milk is the most round nutrition your baby will ever have. Tell them that your body makes milk specifically for your baby and it changes with age and needs.

Leave a Reply

