Top 5 Most Viewed Posts of 2009

2009 has been an epic year for me and I feel I need to do something to commemorate the year. Of course Peanut was born, I became a blogger, I became a lactavist, Twitter turned from a fun way to update my friends to a place I go to for support, activism, and friendship. Overall, this has been an amazing and life-changing year for me. I’ve decided to celebrate my blog’s minor success by talking about the top 5 viewed posts of 2009 (which in this blog’s case means ever).

1. Breastfeeding Photos: The fact this particular blog is my top viewed makes my heart swell. I was nervous about asking our photographer to take photos of Peanut breastfeeding (even though she’s wonderful and breastfeeds herself). I was nervous about family and friends seeing them. I was nervous about posting them on my blog and on Facebook. But in the end I am so happy that I did it and I am so happy that all of you cared to look. One day I will look back at them and cry and cry because they represent the beautiful relationship we have through breastfeeding.

2. Breastfeeding and the Holidays: My favorite thing about this post isn’t necessarily the post itself, but the women at the bottom (and many, many who are not at the bottom too). This year I have made so many new friends (yes, I consider you all to be my friends) through Twitter and blogging. You have all been my support when times have gotten rough, helped me through my breastfeeding woes, and overall just made up for how unpopular I was in high school. 😛 But with all seriousness, thank you. Especially @DevourerofBooks @thefcmom @paisleyduke @nitab @marfmom

3. Baby-led Weaning: Yes, my daughter’s “first” thing she ate was bacon. Of all of my “different” (as my in-laws referred to it parenting things I do, this seems to have been the most influential. Not to say I’ve changed the world’s view on how we should feed our babies, but I’ve explained baby-led weaning to many mommies and helped some of the mommies who were already planning on doing  baby-led weaning get an idea of how to start. It’s also given me my weekly Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays posts.

4. Boycotting WIC: One of the biggest things I’ve learned this year is that you don’t always have to listen to what your “superiors” tell you. You’re allowed to question your doctor, you’re allowed to do your own research, and you’re allowed to tell the government when they’re doing something wrong. This post also helped me to realize that not all WIC offices are like mine was which gives me hope for breastfeeding.

5. Rachel: This hastily written, emotion-filled, ramble of a post is something I never expected anyone to read and I didn’t care if anyone did. Now that it’s all said and done, it makes me happy that this young girl who died tragically too soon will be remembered by people who never even met her. Thank you all for giving me support via Twitter when I learned of her passing. Thank you all for remembering her. I will always remember 2009 as the year that Rachel died.

Thank you all for reading. You give me so much support. You make me feel like I matter in this world. Happy new year.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Most Viewed Posts of 2009

  1. I’m glad we’re Twitter friends too! You’ve introduced me to a lot of great resources for breastfeeding and parenting blogs that I didn’t know about before. Yay for branching out from giveaway-centered mommy blogs to blogs like yours and PHD in Parenting.

  2. Blogging AND a baby- two great things- and you do both so well. Keep it up!
    And good for you for doing things YOUR way and educating others.

Leave a Reply

