Healthy Living Saturdays: My Not-New Year’s Resolution

I suck at New Year’s Resolutions. Every year I’ll make a resolution to be something like more patient, less emotional, more outgoing, but every year I also say I’m going to lose weight. I said it when I was a skinny vegan, I said it when I got chubby. I think the first year I didn’t say it since before my tweens was last year when I was pregnant. Every year I make the resolution and start some diet and exercise plan or take some pill and I mess up less than a month later and give up. This year I’m not making any resolutions, but I’m still going to lose weight.

Healthy living isn’t something I need to do once a year for a few weeks. Healthy living isn’t something that should only be important when trying to look better. I want to lose weight—my BMI is 27.1—because it is healthy for me. Heck, not looking 4 months pregnant would be nice too. I want to eat healthy because it should be my lifestyle.

My pre-pregnancy weight was 150-ish. Though I was never entirely happy with my body (who is?), I felt alright. My BMI was 25, which is technically the very bottom of overweight. I didn’t feel overweight, but I didn’t really try to exercise or eat particularly healthy. I would like to get back down to 150 (eventually lower), but I want it to be an active, healthy 150.

First things first—fast food. I took a personal finance class last semester and I had to add up everything I spent. In the month of November, we spent over 350 dollars eating out. This includes fast food and restaurant eating. Though it’s partially because we were in the city so much (about 11 hours 3 days a week), it’s still an outrageous number. The first step we’ve taken is to limit our eating out expenses to 175 dollars a month. In December we spent 159 dollars.

MamaFit. I, along with about 15 other moms, are using the #mamafit hashtag on Twitter to help each other lose weight. Just last night I was having problems eating all of the cookies I baked for my Christmas party and Blacktating just told me to stop. That was all it took. Almost like someone smacking my hand and telling me no.

Weight Watchers. I’ve started my 1 week online trial. Keeping track of what I eat makes me realize what and how much I actually eat. Also, I feel like I don’t have a full grasp of what food is healthy. I’m hoping that the points system will help me make better choices with what types of food I eat.

Lastly, exercise. I finally set up the treadmill in the back room and have gone running on it 4-5 times. I would like to do it at least 3 times a week. I would prefer to do it first thing in the morning, but I’m still figuring out how to exercise for 20 minutes and have Peanut be entertained so I’ve only done it at night after she’s in bed. I also signed up for a 1 credit hour stepping class on Saturday mornings.

I’m going to try to post my progress every Saturday on here. Hopefully I’ll also come across some tips for other mamas trying to lose weight. I realize that weekends are when most people slack off with their healthy living, but I want to be held fully accountable*. So here starts Healthy Living Saturdays.

*Speaking of accountability, please comment. I think knowing people are reading this will help me.

9 thoughts on “Healthy Living Saturdays: My Not-New Year’s Resolution

  1. What do your dinners look like? Plan ahead? When I don’t plan we tend to eat out or order in which is expensive and too easy to overeat. Even planning 2 meals can help.
    I am so jealous of your treadmill! Wonder if I could find one on craigslist…. Hmmm…

    • I try to plan about 5 dinners a week, but not actually plan what day they’re on. We do like to eat out sometimes and are quite frequently fed by my in-laws and my parents. As for the treadmill I’m just lucky to be living with my in-laws because it’s theirs. I would rather have an elliptical though.

    • I’m on with you. I don’t want to make it a resolution because those are set to fail but if I just make it a point to try and loose weight then maybe, just maybe I will loose my weight!

  2. That is awesome Claire! I will definitely be reading because I have a goal to lose some weight. It is sad when I get out of breath crawling around after a 10-month old! Good luck, sounds like you’ve got a great plan laid out!!!!

  3. I’m right there with you, sweetie. I gained all my weight when I quit smoking last February and since September have been making a conscious effort to exercise regularly with a friend. We try to powerwalk 2 miles at least 3 times a week and I use our Wii fit plus and some small hand weights to fill in the days when weather doesn’t allow exercise outside.

    It’s tough but just know you aren’t alone hon!

  4. You seem to be doing really well! I like using Twitter, it’s keeping me accountable. I actually felt guilty when I skipped my work out on Wednesday! Let’s continue to keep each other accountable!

  5. Pingback: To Yell or Not to Yell « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

