Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays: Mashed Potatoes

***I just realized (after months of giving Peanut homemade mashed potatoes) that mashed potatoes have uncooked milk in them, therefore shouldn’t be given to babies under one year (I think?). So maybe find a milk alternative to put in the mashed potatoes if you’re giving them to little ones? Someone please tell me if I’m wrong.***

Peanut loves mashed potatoes. Love, loooooove, looove, L-O-V-E-S-T-H-E-M!

Do you believe me yet?

Peanut had never really been interested in mashed potatoes, but I decided to test them out with a spoon. She quickly made it understood that I was simply not giving her the spoon fast enough so I just gave her the plate and spoon—hoping that she may load the spoon herself as she does on occasion—and she tried to use the spoon for about 10 seconds, then got frustrated and used her hands. Then she got frustrated with that and picked up the plate and licked it. So here are silly pictures of Peanut loving the heck out of some mashed potatoes.

Goes to show how much preferences can change with baby-led weaners over just a few months, right?

7 thoughts on “Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays: Mashed Potatoes

  1. Haha! This is precious! Look at her love those potatoes! And I think you’re completely right about preferences changing so quickly. We’re actually backing off the BLW for now ’cause the little guy doesn’t seem too interested yet. No hurry.

    • I wish Peanut would have wanted to wait a little longer. 😦 I miss being her sole source of nutrition.

  2. I love Baby-Led Weaning Wednesdays on your blog! The photos of Peanut digging into her food are great. She seems to have a great time. I have a question. What are her fine motor skills like? I’m assuming that with all the self-feeding, she must really be awesome when it comes to fine motor skills.
    She’s definitely a cutie!

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

    • I’m not sure that I know exactly what you mean, but I think she’s on track with fine motor skills? She uses the spoon herself, but sometimes misses her mouth and hits herself in the face with the food. She also tries to dip the spoon in the bowl herself, but it’s really just a dip because she can’t actually scoop stuff up. She can pick up small things like peas easily. Let me know if you have any other questions.

      • What I meant was that I’m guessing that she’s doing really well with her fine motor skills with all the practice she gets. For instance, Alana does’t know what to do with a spoon. She does well with her pincer grip, but if it came to holding a spoon, dipping it in food and bringing it to her mouth – she hasn’t developed that skill yet. It just seems like Peanut is doing really well. I think it’s pretty cool! 🙂

  3. So funny! As far as the milk thing, we just leave it out anyway cause I’m lactose intolerant, and they are still delicious. Just add a little water if they seem too thick/dry. We haven’t tried them yet with Baby, but I bet he’ll love them, although maybe not as much as Peanut!

Leave a Reply

