Breastfeeding and Stuffy Noses

Hello World! I know, it’s been a long time. I’ve been so busy with buying a house and my last semester ending (well, last for my associates, then on to my bachelors) that you lovely people have fallen to the wayside. I deeply regret it! I will give you a quick forewarning that the blog is probably going to steer in the new homeowner/decorating direction sometime in the near future, but of course I’ll keep up with all of my breastfeeding/attachment parenting posts too.

On to the actual post.

On top of all that’s currently on my plate, Peanut is sick. This is the first time that she’s had a cough and her little nose is running like crazy. This is also the first time that her nose has been so stuffed that she couldn’t nurse. We have a Nose Frida and it works so much better than those bulb syringes, but Peanut screams bloody murder when we use it. We also have the humidifier on really high.

So what do you do to make your little one be able to breathe through their nose to nurse? It would be especially helpful to figure out something that maybe gives a temporary fix when the Nose Frida isn’t around or my husband isn’t home to help me hold her down while we suck the boogers out (oh, it makes me sad to even type it).

In general, what are some good homeopathic remedies for a toddler with the sniffles and coughs? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

4 thoughts on “Breastfeeding and Stuffy Noses

  1. We always just use “Little Noses” it’s a saline solution you squirt up their noses , helps loosen stuff up. Then we just suck it out with a bulb syringe. The saline solutions pretty much a baby version of the netty pot stuff. But yeah, our oldest son was NEVER sick until he hit a year old then something happened and not long after his birthday he got sick. I guess that might be common with breastfed babies?

  2. I’m going thru a similar problem with my little one (almost 9 months old), she has laryngitis and during the night she coughs and gets really stuffy. We use the humidifier and it helps a little but she hasn’t been able to nurse as much as she always does, and it kills me to see her crying and not be able to calm her down in our usual way. I don’t know if you have a pump but I started pumping and bottle feeding my expressed milk because I was starting to get engorged and I want to make sure she is getting all her needs met even though she is not being able to breastfeed because of her stuffed nose. She had my breastmilk from a bottle and i was relieved both mentally and phisically. Hope it helps. Love the blog!

  3. You can squirt breastmilk up their noses…works like the saline deal…I know this is a late comment but maybe you can try that for next time!

    • I am glad i am not the only one who does this. I find is the only thing that will not have K2 screaming, she actually prefers it. She giggles and waits for the milk to come. I had a sinus infection and it was bad enough for me to try it for myself, you know what, it works pretty fast for some relief.

      I use breastmilk for a lot things. It’s funny when K2 falls down and she is not like other children, she asks for Mommy to put milk on it, instead of a band-aid.

Leave a Reply

