Healthy Living Saturdays: Sugar-free?

Hello, Healthy Living Saturdays! It’s been a while! How have you been? Oh me, I’ve been awful. I’ve started eating out more again, cooking less, and putting way too much junk into my body because of my stress of buying a house, finishing my Associates degree, and life with a toddler. We need to nip this problem in the bud. Time to get back on track!

Sugar-free?

Those of you who know me in real life realize how much of a feat this is going to be. I know I have a problem and it scares me that I see Peanut developing that same problem. She doesn’t want to eat fruits nearly as much as she used to, she won’t eat a regular pancake without syrup on it (though I think pure maple syrup is alright because it’s a whole food, it should still be a special occasion type of thing), and she is plain out refusing leafy greens. I. Will. Not. Have. That. Child. I did not work my butt off giving her a drug-free birth, breastfeeding her, researching vaccines, and all of these things that limit putting toxins in her body to let her turn into the little kid drowning herself in sugar. This needs to stop here and now.

As before stated, I also have a problem. The other night I literally ate cinnamon rolls until I made myself feel sick because they tasted so good. I feel like I can’t control myself around sugar. I try to make healthy choices throughout my day, but I see a cookie and I fall apart instantly. What’s worse is that I feel so bad about eating those five cookies (yes, I often can not stop at one cookie) that I just give up for the rest of the day. Then Peanut comes in and wants to eat the same things I am. All of this is so wrong.

So here we start. We’re going sugar-free. I know this will be a gradual process, but it needs to be a strict one too. So rather than trying to cut it all out from the get go (which never works and is too stressful), I’m going to do it in stages. We’re cutting out a new area of sweets every week with my ultimate goal being no refined sugar, occasional natural sugars (i.e. honey, maple syrup), and much more fruits to make up the in between.

This Week’s Goal: No More “Sweets”

Anything I’d consider a dessert is gone. No cookies, cake, ice cream, chocolates, candy, brownies, cinnamon rolls, etc. The sweets are the main culprit and need to be taken care of right away. It’s going to be hard, but I think it’ll help to start off big and go smaller with time.

How I’m going to accomplish this goal:

1. Remove them from my house. I’m going to go through all of our food and get rid of the sweets. Luckily, I’ve been trying to cut down on sweets for a while so there really won’t be that much to get rid of. I’ll take the food I can to a local shelter rather than throwing it away. If I don’t have the option in my own home of the late night sweets, it won’t happen.

2. Tell family about the no desserts rule. This will be for Peanut and myself. If they’re all having cake, we’ll bring fruit to share. We’ll also have to eat it in another room so she doesn’t beg for everyone else’s cake (which she does all the time). That part kind of sucks because we won’t be in on the fun, but I’m hoping with time neither of us will crave the sugar and we’ll be able to join them again.

3. Buy a bunch of fruit. I’ll be less likely to try to go out for sweets if I have something that will satisfy my sweet tooth at home. I already love fruits and Peanut loves them too when there’s no sweeter option. I’m happy we’re starting this when Peanut is young enough that she can’t actually request sweets.

4. Say no to sweets when we’re out. I’m just going to avoid looking at the dessert menu at all. Also, places that I crave going to specifically for the dessert (like Cutlers and their cookies) will have to be avoided until I stop craving sugar so much.

Does anyone who reads this blog live sugar-free? If so, any helpful hints?

2 thoughts on “Healthy Living Saturdays: Sugar-free?

  1. I don’t live sugar-free, but I commend you on what you’re about to do. I’ve been thinking for some time that I would like to be able to cut out all refined sugars, and I know I have a lot of work to do on my diet before my baby starts eating solid food.

    Seems like once you regress, it’s SO hard to get back on track. I’m interested in reading how this goes for you. I’m hoping it motivates me to get going. I, too, cannot eat just one cookie. Sadly, I never liked sweets until I was pregnant with my daughter…and the cravings didn’t go away when she was born. 😦

  2. I grew up sugar free… we didn’t even have jam or jelly in the house, so we had peanut butter and honey sandwiches instead. I definitely had major sugar craving with my second pregnancy, and I need to cut back the sugar I’m consuming now… I am a big time tea drinker and I realized recently that adds up and I’m probably drinking 3 tablespoons of sugar a day. That doesn’t sound so bad until you figure in the cookies, etc… but I think even the little bit of sugar in my tea is making me crave more.

    Fortunately in the summer I’m just as happy to have a big slice of watermelon, or some cherries or grapes… hopefully that will help!

Leave a Reply

