Healthy Living Saturdays: Update on Sugar

Photo Credit: FreckleFoot on Photobucket.com

Okay, so maybe I’m not made for this sugar-free thing. Desserts are my one vice and I don’t think I can give them up all together, but this week did make me re-evaluate my relationship with them. Desserts should not control me and I can control myself.

So rather than sugarless, I’m going to go with less sugar. Sugar will be something reserved for when Peanut is not around—which severely limits the amount of sugar I will have anyway—so that she can hopefully grow up without the addiction to sweets I obviously have. I will also limit myself to one sweet thing. That means no handful of chocolates and no eating five cookies at once. If the sweet thing I want is a candy bar, I will have one. If the sweet thing I want is cake, I will have one slice. It will also not be an every day thing. I will try to limit sweets to special occasions as much as possible. I will also try to limit myself to sweets I make myself at home so I can control the amount of sugar—and really everything—that goes into them.

I know it may be unfair to say no sweets for Peanut when I still get them, but it’s for her own good. Hopefully she can grow up without my habits and I can slowly grow out of them. There is absolutely no reason that she needs sweets when she’s so young.

So this brings me to a new question: grandparents. I’ve told them no sugar, but it’s not really doing much to deter them. They joke “Don’t tell Mommy” as they give her bites of their cookie. I don’t know if they don’t take me seriously or if they just don’t like denying their grand-daughter cookie when she’s asking for it.

Have you had this problem? How did you handle it? Am I making too big of a deal out of it? Maybe I should just let her grandparents be grandparents?

6 thoughts on “Healthy Living Saturdays: Update on Sugar

  1. Daniel’s mostly too little for it to have been a big problem yet, but both grandfathers have given him little bites of ice cream. I think I’m going to go with the approach that sweets are for special occasions, like going to grandma’s house and not try to keep him from them entirely, because I don’t want to turn sugar into something that he sneaks around to get.

  2. All grandparents are like that. I HATE it too. The only thing I’ve been able to do is stop it if I’m with them both but when I’m not there there’s nothing I can do about it. If it bothers you then I would suggest being with her and them when they are together. I don’t understand why grandparents are like this and why they think they have the right to go against what we want for our children…

  3. I worry about the same sort of thing happening when my son is old enough for that sort of thing. I think I would try to explain my concern of my child growing up to have the same unhealthy relationship to junk foods that I do (Because I do, oh lord, I do) – that it really is very important to me that he have limited amounts of sugar, etc.

    • My mother told my grandmother (her mother-in-law) that her children were to have NO sugar until they were two. The next day she walked in to find my grandmother feeding me (a seven month old) chocolate ice cream.

      It wasn’t a lot, Just a little dab on the end of a spoon. My mother didn’t say anything, she just smiled. Every time I went over to my grandmother’s house (which was about once a year) she gave me chocolate ice cream. It became a tradition. As I grew older, it went from cheap ice cream to Godiva Belgian Chocolate ice cream. It was something my grandma and I shared, something that was special for the two of us.

      The point of this is yes, I think you should just let them be grandparents. Stop the sneaking, but allow the spoiling. That is, as long as they don’t go overboard.

  4. It’s kind of a tough situation, I do believe that most moms deal with it at some point. With my 3yr old, I’m ok w/the grandparents letting him have sweets (a small amount, like a cookie) but I think they go overboard easily because they are grandparents and they want to “spoil” their grandchildren.
    I was not ok with it when he was under a year old though, and the whole “let’s not tell mommy” thing irritated me. It is also frustrating in general when you ask someone not to give something to your child and they don’t listen. In all fairness, they may not mean any harm..but whether or not your child should get sweets is really not for them to say. She’s your child.

  5. Cambria is only 7 months, and we only just recently started her on solids, about 3 weeks ago. However, family members are always trying to get me to feed her just random stuff. Like, whipped cream? Banana bread? Fudge pops?? I’m like “geez you guys, childhood obesity is at an all-time high in this country, and the things you want to give her are so sugary!!!” Drives me crazy. They try to make me out to be some Food Nazi, but I just want my little natural girl to STAY that way.

Leave a Reply

