Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays: Cereal

I had a lot of conflicts about whether or not to give Peanut cereal when she turned one (and therefore was old enough for cow’s milk). She already ate Barbara O’s (organic Cheerio type cereal that’s sweetened with fruit juice) dry, but whether or not to put milk on them threw me for a loop.

We don’t give Peanut milk to drink. Well, we do give her milk to drink, but that’s our word for breastfeeding. I see no point in giving her Moo Cow—the name we came up with for cow’s milk because we called breast milk “milk” for so long that if we even called it “cow’s milk” she would want to breastfeed—while she’s still breastfeeding because I already have the best milk for her. So what about putting it on cereal? I decided we’d give it a go.

Here are some helpful tips I’ve come up with in regards to toddlers eating cereal:

First off, don’t let any extra milk be sitting in the bowl. If your Baby-led Weaner is anything like mine, they’ll grab the bowl and try to flip it over. This applies for expressed breast milk in cereal too (yes, I tried that once, but it didn’t seem to make much of a difference to her and I hate pumping). The goal is just enough milk that the cereal is sticky.

Second, you need to put something below the kiddo to catch all of the dropped cereal. I don’t know about you, but we’ve gotten to the point that I don’t often put something below her because she doesn’t drop much. Lots and lots of cereal will be dropped and it’s very, very sticky. Be prepared for clean-up.

Third, give them the bowl and spoon and let them go at it! It’s hilarious to watch.

She tries the spoon for the first little while…

and she’s even successful sometimes!

Then she gives up on the spoon and uses her hands.

Blurry, but you can see how she shoves the food into her mouth. 😛

We don’t do cereal for breakfast often because we try to eat whole foods as much as possible, but when we do we both get a kick out of it. I suggest you try it!

4 thoughts on “Baby-led Weaning Wednesdays: Cereal

  1. Are those the mix-and-match “Hop to Bed” jammies from Target? Peeper has that set! (She’s wearing the frog shirt right now, with a pair of shorts from the “I Whaley Love You” set, also pink and green, so close enough to matching for her.)

    Um, topic? Cereal. Yeah.

    Peeper eats shredded wheat one piece at a time, mooched from Shrike’s bowl, but we’ve not dared to give her a bowl of her own yet.

    (Altho the dogs will handle clean up, so that’s not really a problem.)

    • They so are that set! I love Target’s pajamas! So cute! I just wish they weren’t so expensive.

  2. I really wanted to find a rice cereal that had more nutritional value than just plain white rice and I am so happy I found this product. I started my baby on this at 5 months and he loves it. I mix it with Breast Milk and once he starts veggies and fruit I will add that in as well. This does not constipate him either and I love that it is Organic and enriched with Probiotcs and DHA.
    If you are looking for a great first food for your baby with quality ingredients this is it and you can’t beat the price for organic.

Leave a Reply

