The Great Cloth Diaper Change

Nursing Peanut before the changing.

Saturday was The Great Cloth Diaper Change. I’m sad that I didn’t blog about it earlier so that people would know to participate, but last week was finals and my brain was dead for a few good days afterwards. Honestly, I’d forgotten about it until I noticed it in my calendar Thursday-ish, so it’s a good thing I made it at all.

The event was amazing. It was so cool to see so many cloth diapering families come together. I was amazed how many husbands were there too! I thought about making mine come, but decided he should be allowed to sleep in on Saturday (the doors opened at 9am and we had to drive an hour to get there). There were goody bags and booths full of attachment parenting items. Even a drawing for prizes.

Holding Peanut up post-changing.

The Utah event was put together by the people who run ClothDiaper.com and Cloth Diaper Utah (along with other sponsors). It was really fun to hear stories of people who cloth diapered twenty years ago when it wasn’t so popular. I’m proud to say that my mom cloth diapered my brother and me when we were babies and she came with me. She also took some awesome pictures of the event for me.

The end number in Utah was 63 babies, but there were 400 sites world-wide (and Australia had to change them at 2:30am!) so the number for the Guinness Book of World Records will be much higher than that. This is an amazing way to bring awareness to such a wonderful and simple (yes, cloth diapering really is simple) aspect of attachment parenting. Changing this one thing about your parenting not only limits your baby’s exposure to chemicals, but also helps the planet immensely. I urge all parents to at least look in to cloth diapers. They aren’t as difficult as they look and things have changed a ton since the days when we were all babies. Not to mention saving an incredible amount of money. Seriously, almost all parenting decisions I make are because I’m cheap and/or lazy.

Did you participate in the Great Cloth Diaper Change? Do you cloth diaper? Are you interested in cloth diapering? Please post any questions you may have and I will do my best to answer them! 

6 thoughts on “The Great Cloth Diaper Change

  1. How do you maintain cloth diapers? Do you wash them in the washer? Do they become nasty after awhile?

    • Yep, wash them in a washer. If they get stained you just let them bleach in the sun. They don’t get gross with time because you wash them regularly. Sometimes they have to be stripped because they stop soaking as well or smell a bit, but that generally just means washing them a bit extra.

  2. Pingback: Oh Katy Diaper Review « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

