I’m Back

Hello world, I’m back from my unofficial hiatus.

Yeah, I never really decided to take a break, but it seems I have taken one anyway. My blog posts have been few and far between lately and I apologize for that.

I think it all started with my school semester. I was very good at doing other things like cleaning house and updating the blog during the semester because I was so burnt out from school that I would do anything to avoid even thinking about it. It worked for a while, until my finals were coming up and I sorely needed to study. Of course, since I jammed my head in a book for a week I neglected everything else. Then when the finals were over and I had pulled a very mediocre grade out of a very easy class that I had an A in earlier in the semester, I was burnt out with life. Of course, the whole peanut allergy thing has compounded it.

I’ve failed at my budget. I’ve gone out the window with spending. My new minimalism philosophy is being tested at the moment. When stressed/upset I like to spend. This includes my new Vitamix, which I do not regret buying at all especially in light of Peanut’s allergy (yes, I plan on continuing to call her Peanut, however ironic it is). The Vitamix is another post for another day. Beyond that though, I’ve really spent a ton and I don’t even know where. My budget has also gone out the window in the fact that I haven’t done a thing about categorizing spending and comparing to budgeted amounts for the whole month of April.

I’ve failed at eating. Any sort of awesome feeling I was getting from food has gone away. I was drinking green smoothies every morning for a few weeks and feeling great, but lately I’ve been going out to lunch nearly every day. Of course, this doesn’t help with the budget. I’m back on the green smoothies and starting to feel better. Also vowing not to go out for quite some time. I need to spend more time at home in general rather than trying to accomplish everything I missed during school over the course of a week. Doing that will certainly help me not eat out so much.

I’ve failed at housework. My house is a mess. This may be normal life for some, but it adds to all of my other stresses. As I talked about in this post, I need order to live happily. My house being a wreck just makes me more stressed out. The worse it gets the less I want to deal with it. I am one of those people who needs to clean every day or else it just won’t happen. So I just (well, last night since I have a compulsive need to schedule my posts for 12:00 noon if you didn’t notice) cleaned my kitchen thoroughly and I feel great. The kitchen was especially bad because it was the site of The Great De-peanut-ing.

Luckily, one thing I’m thoroughly happy about right now is my relationship with Peanut. I’m loving being able to spend 24-7 with her now. She’s become a bit clingy and I think it’s because she thinks I’m going to leave her and go to school again. She had to go with me to the dentist today to get a filling done and sit with Mema in the waiting room because she couldn’t stay at home with Mema. I’m perfectly okay with it though. She’s also having tons of fun doing things we haven’t had time for in a while like going to the park and La Leche League. I’m sure she’ll be just as happy to sit at home with Mama and cuddle, watch Disney movies, play with her letters, sing songs, and so much more. I’m really cherishing this time that I have to just be with her. If it were my choice, I’d stay home with her all the time.

So, here’s to things starting back up. Here’s to going on with life. Here’s to giving up on this whole stress thing and just living.

4 thoughts on “I’m Back

  1. Welcome back! I hear you on how when everything seems to lump together and how stressful it can be, but the good thing is everything goes right back to reason of it all, your peanut. I need one of those Vitamix machines in my life right now, that will help take some of my stress away.

  2. Hi, we seem to have a lot in common! I am a 21year old married Asian-American women who is a SAHM and who is still breastfeeding my 1 year old toddler! Anyways, I believe you live in Utah–I live in Ohio and on channel 8 news at 10pm they are having a story about a breastfeeding baby that is on the market…thought you would be interested to watch it! I also wrote a post about it on my facebook about 5mins ago and got some negative feedback already! LOL! Do you have a facebook?? Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Granola Head’s Guide to Natural Pregnancy « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

