Why I Want a Home Birth

6 weeks 1 day with a little Peanut head at the bottom.

I don’t believe that pregnancy and birth are illnesses and don’t want to be treated as such.

I want to be in control of my own birth.

I want someone who respects me to handle my care.

I don’t want to fight the system, I want to be exempt from it.

I don’t want to be tricked into things I don’t want to do.

I want to give breastfeeding it’s best shot.

I don’t want people offering me pain medication when I’m feeling weak.

I don’t want people taking advantage of me in general.

I want to give my child the best start in life.

I want to be in the privacy and love of my own home.

I want everyone present at my birth to be on my side.

I am now 6 weeks and 1 day along. I’m feeling less tired, but I think it’s partially because I’m giving in to every craving and letting myself get sleep where I can. I’ve figured out that it’s not about letting myself have just 300 extra calories a day, but eating to hunger. I have to remember that since I’m still nursing, this isn’t a normal pregnancy when it comes to calorie intake. This morning I had two bowls of rice crispies with a banana sliced on top of each and I felt good about it.

I’m also feeling nausea for sure. I don’t think I’ll get away so lucky with avoiding vomiting like I did with Peanut. Actually, if I would have had anything to throw up in my stomach the other morning, I would have already broken that record. Saturday when we were at my aunt’s funeral I got pretty nauseous, but I used the Preggie Pop sample I got and it seemed to work well enough. I think that was mostly a lack of eating. I’ll definitely be getting some more of those.

I’m also feeling pretty touched out. I just start to feel frustrated when Peanut won’t leave my lap or keeps kicking me while twirling around on the couch. Luckily, the nursing stuff is getting better though. It’s kind of silly that I’m more okay with nursing, but don’t want her on me. Weird ways our bodies work. Either way, she’s getting to nurse more often and it seems to help a bit. I’m also trying to get little bits of time away from Peanut to just unwind like going to a movie with my husband or going to the grocery store by myself. Lastly, I’m getting a better handle on housework again, so that’s helping me feel less stressed.

10 thoughts on “Why I Want a Home Birth

  1. I never thought of it that way. I have 5 kids and the only “positive” breastfeeding help I recieved was with my first and he is 18. Granted, it was the nurse coming into my room, grabbing my boob, without asking, and thusly began ramming my little baby’s head at. I was traumatized, who knows how he felt about the whole thing. I remember, when I got home, telling my mom, “Look mom hes doing it by himself.” Every child since, 1 have 5, was given a bottle in the nursery. I did tread through though. My longest breastfeeding my babies, was 2 years.

    • I had a very similar experience with the lactation consultant in the hospital. I actually called her back and told her she has to SHOW me how to do it rather than just doing it for me. 😛

  2. Yup! Well said!

    I wanted a home birth for all those reasons. Summed up: I didn’t want to fight anyone during labor. I wanted SUPPORT, not argument. I wanted to trust my caregiver, instead of worrying about if I was being tricked.

    • Exactly my thoughts! Why should I be forced to fight with my care provider while I’m trying to BIRTH A BABY?!?! Gah!

  3. PreggiePops, PreggieDrops, QueasyDrops, and QueasyPops are processed in a plant that also processes Dairy, Peanut, Almond, Walnut, Pecan, Nutmeg, Soy Protein and Wheat Products.

    …be careful!

    • I spoke to someone on the phone from the company. She said that while the nuts are in the same factory, it is in an entirely separate part. Different room, different equipment. She assured me there is absolutely no risk of cross-contamination. Thanks for your concern though!

Leave a Reply

