21-Day Challenge – Don’t Spend Money?

First off, happy 4th of July for those in the United States!

As you all know, I loves me some Minimalist Mom. While my minimalist journey has been side-lined by pregnancy and life, I still try to keep the same mindset. It’s hard though and I will admit that I’ve slipped up more times than I remember, but I’m trying. Honestly, I think I’m going to start going again with getting rid of stuff, but that’s another post for another day.

While reading through The Minimalist Mom’s archive, I found this post talking about how to get started with minimalism. A great post to read in general, but also a great link within this post to The Unblogger’s 21-Day Challenge series. The idea is that it takes 21 days to form a new habit. I immediately started thinking about all of the things that I would love to change about my life. Her posts about drinking only water interest me. I love the idea of watching less TV (or having my toddler watch less TV). Maybe something in regards to cleaning my house. So many options!

Then I realized what I really need to change-my financial habits. I am Absolutely. Awful. With. Money. I know everyone says it, but I am so beyond that person. I think of money in my pocket as something to spend. I like to shop to make myself feel better. I need to minimalize my toddler’s play area again purely because of my own spending. I see something I want and I have to have it. I actually cried yesterday over a debacle regarding buying Peanut a princess dress yesterday. Cried. Yeah, I’m pregnant, but I cried over a princess dress and I am over 10 years old. I think that says I have a problem.

Beyond being awful with money, I am the one in the family that is awful with money. Yes, my husband makes the occasional purchase that I question, but I’m certain that our finances would be in order if I had no control of the money. And oh my, they are not in order.

So here is my 21-Day Challenge (inspired while reading this blog post by The Minimalist Mom): 21 Days of purchasing only consumables.

I definitely need help in the consumable department too, but this is where we’ll start. I can’t just say “I won’t buy anything I don’t need” because I talk myself into needing everything. I can’t say spend X amount a day because I always end up spending more and feeling sad for myself, then spending even more. I think I need to have a full-on spending cleanse and since I still need food for our table and gas in my car, consumables are still in.

I’m sure that you all will quickly get annoyed with my posts on this. I’m going to be keeping track of myself strictly. I know this is supposed to be a blog about parenting, but I am a part of parenting. I need to fix my own habits if I want to teach good ones to my children. I need to stop my money problems in their tracks so I don’t pass them onto my children. I need to parent myself before I can parent them.

So here I go. Starting today, no non-consumables (with bills obviously not counting towards this). I will not bring anything new into my house for 3 weeks. Sounds relatively easy, but believe me, this is going to get rough.

8 thoughts on “21-Day Challenge – Don’t Spend Money?

  1. Pingback: Terrified of Two « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

  2. Thanks for the link love and kind words. =)

    Have you heard of http://www.habitforge.com/ ? You can create habit lists and they send you an email a day to ask if you succeeded that day. You can respond yes or no. If you say no it resets the counter to day 1 of 21 days. If you say yes you are one day closer to forming a habit.

    Good luck!!

    PS. Congrats on the pregnancy!!!

    • Thanks! I’ll have to check out that site. Little reminders are nice. 😀

  3. Good luck! We were in a similar situation and then found Dave Ramsey’s book ‘The Total Money Makeover’. His book has really put our money into perspective and we have seen such a positive change in our spending habits! If you have not heard of him check out his site. I think you will like his values and thoughts about money.

  4. I have the exact problem and it is so very hard. I buy things just to make me feel better. It just feels so good to buy! I am going to love your posts on this because I am sure I will learn something. I may even try doing that challenge…but then again just thinking of it makes me feel anxious…sigh

    • It’s been really hard so far, but I think it’s a good thing. Hopefully it’ll make me feel more mindful about my purchases, but it’s killing me that I can’t buy things that I really feel like I do need! I guess if I need them, I’ll still need them in two weeks.

  5. Pingback: No Shopping Challenge Update « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

  6. Pingback: 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

