I Breastfeed For My Kids

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about the environment and breastfeeding. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


That statement could be implied many ways, but right now, I’m talking about the environment.

Now that I’m a parent, thinking of the environment is more than just an abstract ideal, it’s my children’s future. I’ve always been interested in the environment, but before having kids that’s exactly how it felt–abstract. Back then it was “Yeah, it would be great if we didn’t kill off our ozone layer.” and now it’s “If I don’t do something about this, my children will be more likely to get skin cancer.” It’s amazing how much making something personal can push you to act.

So I try to do things that are more environmentally friendly. I’m not perfect by any means, but I try. Breastfeeding probably doesn’t make the larges impact of all of my parenting choices, but it is certainly the first stepping stone to a lot of other things I’ve done as a parent that impact the environment much more greatly, such as cloth diapering. Being in tune with my child’s needs and not letting her “cry it out” gave me that extra push to start taking the train into town rather than driving my car because of how upset she would get in the car seat. Attachment parenting just goes hand in hand with saving the whales.

For me, it’s extended far beyond parenting. I line dry my clothes whenever possible (though I could get better at timing my laundry doing around the weather). Even now that Peanut doesn’t hate the car seat, we still try to take the train whenever possible. I recycle and actually pay money to do it, just because it feels right. I use natural cleaners and pesticides in my home, most of which are homemade. Really, being frugal also goes hand in hand with helping the environment.

So I’m not going to try to tell you that I saved a baby seal by breastfeeding. I’m not going to convince you this is the big reason that you should breastfeed. Rather, I invite you to take a look at parenting as a whole and ask yourself what really makes sense. Chances are, you’ll lower your carbon footprint along the way.


Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

One thought on “I Breastfeed For My Kids

  1. I completely agree with your logic. Now that I’m pregnant my way of looking at the world has altered (for the better and greener). I was always a little bit health conscious, but now it’s not just me I’m feeding when I put food in my mouth. The environment is no longer for me to live in everyday, it’s something I will be leaving to my children. It just makes sense to make an effort!

Leave a Reply

