Nursing While Pregnant

15 weeks 1 day

My milk is all but gone.

I noticed it a couple weeks ago. One night she accidentally fell asleep before getting dinner. When she woke up hungry a couple hours later, I figured I’d just nurse her and she’s have a happy full tummy. Keeping her awake through the nursing was hard enough, but I realized that she only swallowed all of once or twice. I poked and prodded at the other breast to try to get some milk to come out, but there was nothing. I poked and prodded at the breast she had just been nursing on and could get just a tiny bit.

Really though, it hasn’t changed a thing. I’ve had to worry about getting Peanut more calories from food, but that’s alright. She’s still nursing at least a couple times in the morning, once before her nap, and once before bed. Sometimes she’ll ask to nurse if she sees other kids nursing, but that’s about it. It’s about where we were before I got pregnant and ever since I got pregnant. She’s obviously enjoying the cuddles at least since she’s not getting a ton of actual milk from it.

Luckily it hasn’t been to painful or anything. Occasionally I feel touched out or get the heebeegeebees, but we just stop nursing for a while and try again later. She {mostly} understands that she needs to stay still while she’s nursing and that she can’t jerk her head around. This is just as much for breastfeeding pain as it is for pregnancy pain. It doesn’t feel particularly good for 30 pounds to be jumping and wiggling on my stomach these days.

I’m 15 weeks and 1 day along now. The second trimester is treating me well thus far. Still incredibly thirsty. Still incredibly dizzy. Can’t spend a ton of time outside and moving with it being warm. Definitely can’t go long between eating.

Even though I feel like I’ve been eating like a cow, I’ve lost 5 pounds since becoming pregnant. My midwife says it’s fine so long as the baby is growing. I’m supposed to be getting 3000 calories a day with nursing and being pregnant, which she says is near dang impossible on a healthy diet. Honestly, while of course a healthy baby is the most important thing, I don’t mind losing a bit of weight. I never lost that last 10-15 pounds (which is apparently common when breastfeeding), so I’m still above my pre-Peanut-pregnancy weight. I’m sure I’ll start gaining like crazy soon and this will be a distant memory.

The reason that I’m not posting as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival today is because I’m guest posting on the Cafe’s blog. Read the post here.

3 thoughts on “Nursing While Pregnant

  1. (Found you through your twitter post) Wow! You sound just like me with my second child. I never lost the last 10-15 pounds of my pregnancy weight, until I lost 7 pounds when I was pregnant with my 2nd. I was sooo thirsty and so dizzy too. When my milk dried up due to the pregnancy, it was never painful when Baby T nursed, either. He ended up weaning for a month and then started nursing again when my colostrum came in. Good luck! It is such a roller coaster!

  2. Wowzers.. i”m 33 weeks pregnant with my first and I am also an advocate for breastfeeding, however I never considered the possibility of breastfeeding while pregnant! Thanks for sharing your experience!

  3. Pingback: Tandem Nursing and Nearing the Third Trimester « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

