Knowledge is Power

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about how you influence others. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!
 


 
As I’m sure you all can tell, I try to do a lot of things in my life to influence other moms to breastfeed. There are various things that I do on a regular basis just to try to help other moms see the need to breastfeed. I have already thought of about 10 equal, but different directions I could take this post and they all have one theme in common–knowledge is power.

So many moms just aren’t given the knowledge they need to succeed at breastfeeding. They don’t know that it’s not supposed to be excruciating pain in the beginning because every other mom who ended their breastfeeding relationship too early tells them it was. They don’t know that there are so many sources out there for help because they feel alone and isolated with our society’s bias against talking about breastfeeding. Many moms don’t even know how much of a risk they are taking with their child by not breastfeeding.

So what I try to do is spread knowledge.

When I find out a friend of mine is expecting, I try to give her the knowledge so many other moms don’t have. I try to give her reliable places to get information online, I try to tell her about the La Leche League meetings near her, and I try to offer my help if she ever needs it. I may just end up being taken as noisy, but I feel that every expecting mom needs to know those things before they are in the situation where they need them.

When I read a new study that, yet again, shows more reason that breastfeeding is necessary, I do my best to spread the new information. I tell the people around me, I post blogs about it, and I’ll even post it on my Facebook status. I’m sure many of my Facebook friends think that I’m weird because of the things I post and I’m sure that the single men I know could certainly care less, but maybe they’ll remember even just the fact that I was posting about so many benefits of breastfeeding and when they have a baby, they’ll be supportive of their wife breastfeeding.

I have a friend who didn’t breastfeed for long with her first child. By the time we started hanging out, her daughter was already a toddler and I hadn’t had Peanut yet. She told me about her blood blisters and how painful it was and how sad she was that she didn’t succeed. When she had her second child after I had had Peanut, I just knew I needed to help her. I gave her all the information I could think of and I even took her to a Lactation Consultant at the Breastfeeding Cafe (there is one there that’s free every Sunday of the Cafe). She recently celebrated hitting the two year mark for breastfeeding.

I certainly don’t take credit for her story. I’m sure that they biggest thing that helped her was her pure determination to make breastfeeding work the second time around, but I would like to think that what I did helped her. Even in the smallest of ways. And that’s all I’m seeking to do, help. I give information to help. That’s the goal of all of my lactivism, just to help, and knowledge is the place to start.
 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

