The Importance of Tailored Sitting

25 Weeks 3 Days

I love my recliner. Love, love, LOVE my recliner. It’s the perfect way to relax at the end of the day and do some knitting while I watch TV. I love to cuddle Peanut on it while we watch a movie. I love to lounge and read a book. And I’m giving it up.

Why would I do that? Posterior. Babies. Are. Not. Worth. It.

Posterior means that your baby is basically facing the wrong way. My midwife called it “sunny side up”. With the baby facing this way, all the pressure is on your back rather than your uterus. Seriously, it’s not something I would wish on my worst enemy. While I came out of Peanut’s birth feeling like a new woman, I was terrified to ever experience that again. It was so much work and not what I prepared for. Of course, I think our preparations definitely made the difference. I think I would have ended up going to the hospital to get the sleep meds that my midwife suggested if it weren’t for the counter-pressure that my husband did Every. Single. Contraction. I think that while the experience was something amazing that changed my life momentously, I don’t want to do it again. Not like that anyway.

So that’s why I’m giving up the recliner.

Yes, there are plenty of women who recline through the last half of their pregnancy for eight hours and day and don’t have posterior babies and blah blah blah, but it’s because reclining increases your risks of having a posterior baby. It’s the same argument that people use for formula feeding. If I were of a different opinion on that particular debate, I may tell you that my husband is one of the smartest people I have ever met and he was exclusively formula-fed beyond, from what I understand, just a few weeks. It’s all about increased risk. Just because you breastfed that doesn’t mean your child is default smarter, just that they have a higher potential to be. Just because you sit in a recliner regularly throughout pregnancy doesn’t mean you’re going to have a posterior baby, just that you’re more likely to.

As I look back on my last pregnancy, I know I should have known to give up reclining. Every appointment from when they could actually palpitate the baby on, they told me she was facing the wrong way. They told me she still had plenty of time to flip, so I didn’t worry about it. I knew the Bradley Method advised against reclining, but I figured doing my pelvic rocks would make up for it. I should have known to start working on her position earlier. I should have known that since she was already in the “bad” position, that I shouldn’t give her more incentive to stay there.

So this time, I’m considering myself “high risk” for a posterior baby. I have absolutely no data stating that you’re more likely to have a posterior baby if you’ve had one before, but I don’t need statistics to get me to realize I do not want to go through that kind of birth again, so I am going to do what I can to prevent it–which includes tailored sitting.

Tailored sitting is another important “exercise” of the Bradley Method. The word exercise is in quotations because you’re really not doing anything at all, just sitting as you should. Sit up straight (which means your belly kind of sticks out) and in what they called “Indian style” when I was a kid (obviously 10 year olds didn’t care about political correct-ness). You can also sit with your feet together if that’s more comfortable. Even if you don’t sit with your legs in a pretzel, it’s still a benefit to sit with a straight back (e.g. When I’m in class it’s not very logical to sit in those chairs traditionally tailored, but I can still put my feet on the floor and sit with a straight back).

This along with avoiding reclining and doing my pelvic tilts I hope will keep this babe in the right position. There are also things you can do further along if your baby isn’t turning into the right position, but I’ll explore those further if I’m in that position again (pun intended). I figure if I can handle a posterior birth, I can handle any birth.

I am now 25 weeks and 3 days pregnant. We’re just chugging along. Twig gets upset if I put books on my belly and kicks them. He/she can also reach my ribs now, which isn’t too fun even in this not-as-hard-kicks stage. I think Peanut felt Twig for the first time the other day. She always tells me that she felt the baby when she touches my belly (even if she pulls her hand off after 2 seconds), but this time I felt the baby kick where her hand was and her eyes went all wide. I don’t think she really understood it, but it’s still awesome.

I’ve been super tired lately and I don’t know why. It’s like no matter what time I go to bed, I can’t get myself to get out in the morning. I’ve been almost late to class multiple times because of this, so I need to get it under control. I’m also much more snappy to Peanut on the mornings when we’re running late, so that gives me extra incentive to get our morning routine back in order. Any suggestions for feeling more rested while pregnant? Maybe I need to take up afternoon naps again? Hrm. Maybe I’ll go have one of those right now.

Leave a Reply

