What’s In Your Bag?

I’ve been meaning to do this post for a while and this guest post by the Minimalist Mom on Babble made it come back to thought. People are always making fun of me for my huge bag (often called my Mary Poppins bag by others and myself). Yes, sometimes it’s actually huge-ly full of stuff, but for the most part it’s not. I’m always trying to find ways to pare down to what I really need and at this point, everything that’s in my bag is used at least once every couple weeks. The stuff that’s on the less frequent side of that is the stuff that’s really needed when it’s needed.

So what’s in my bag?

Going left to right, top to bottom: water bottle (refilled multiple times a day), current knitting project (major bulk in the bag because that skein is huge!), scissors for knitting, ruler for knitting, crochet hook for knitting, the actual bag itself, cell phone, keys. Luna bar for emergency snacking, nuts for regular snacking, pen and pencil, nail clippers, glasses cleaning cloth (I’m attempting to not use my shirt on my new glasses), tissues (not often used, but sorely needed when Peanut gets a runny nose out of nowhere), planner/wallet/money tracking/awesomeness book, black gloves (yay I found them!), gum (which is actually helping my heartburn, thanks Hannah!), inhaler (also not often used, but obviously when I need it, I need it), headphones, lotion, flossers (can’t stand stuff in my teeth).

Actually writing it all out like that seemed like a lot, but I think it’s a fairly simple system. I’m certainly not planning on downsizing my actual bag anytime soon, especially with Twig on the way (thank goodness breastfed babies don’t need you to carry much stuff!), but I think that I carry a reasonable amount of stuff. For the most part, Peanut carries her own stuff in her bag, but now that’s she’s having fewer and fewer accidents I sometimes just throw a change of pants into my bag rather than bringing her little backpack. Overall I’m pretty happy with my system, but of course I’m always looking for ways to pair down even further.

My bag hanging on it's hook by my desk (keeps the desk free for use and discourages small hands from playing with Mama's bag).

What’s in your bag? If you’ve done a post like this, please link it in the comments! I find it so interesting to see what others carry. Any recommendations for where I can pair down further?

4 thoughts on “What’s In Your Bag?

    • I think that chewing any minty gum helps. It doesn’t entirely make it go away, but when it’s especially bad it makes it tolerable.

  1. I have 3 kids-5yrs, 4yrs & 9 mos. My purse carries my phone, credit cards, cash, xylitol gum, lip gloss and 1 disposable diaper. I keep an emergency big zip lock bag in my car with clothes, cloth dipes, wet bag and undies and a first aid kit in the glove box. Breastfeeding keeps me from carrying too much and I’ve learned that I’m never too far from home or car to make it necessary to carry a big bag. I feel so free now without it!

    • That’s a really good idea. I may do that when the baby comes. I can even easily change the baby in the car now that I have the van! 😛

Leave a Reply

