Placenta Encapsulation

32 Weeks 2 Days

Yeah, I plan on ingesting my placenta.

It’s funny the reaction that this simple idea gets. When I said it in our Bradley class, even the teacher kind of cringed. For some reason the placenta has become something disgusting in our society. Even in the realm of people who realize the benefits of giving the baby it’s own cord blood (by letting the cord stay attached until it is done pulsating), they often do not recognize the benefits to the mother to get the nutrients herself.

We are one of the only mammals that do not eat our placentas after birth. I find this particularly ironic considering that we are the only mammals that have developed the skills to be able to cook it rather than eat it raw. Eating the placenta has amazing benefits too. It can help with postpartum depression, milk supply, and healing postpartum. I even had a friend of mine tell me that she started taking two pills a day (rather than one) when her in-laws got into town, which gave her the strength to deal with them. 😛

So what am I talking about with this “pills” nonsense? You encapsulate them! There are societies that eat their placentas raw or cooked, but it is the norm (for people who actually do it) in industrialized nations to cook, powder, and stick ours into pills. What’s amazing is that it’s not difficult to do yourself or you can even pay someone else to do it! Personally, one of my midwife’s assistants does it for $85. Certainly not bad for some natural “happy pills” that will get me through my rough postpartum days.

I am now 32 weeks and 2 days pregnant. I am feeling super irritable (especially with Peanut, which makes me sad) and heartburn is driving me nuts again. Last night after waking up at 2am and not being able to get back to sleep for the burning, I tried 1/2 teaspoon baking soda in a half cup of warm water and that helped a lot. I’m supposed to do that sparingly though because the high sodium content. I don’t know if that’s based on the notion that pregnant women aren’t supposed have salt though (which is wrong according to the Brewer diet), so I don’t know if it matters much. I do feel a bit swollen in my hands this morning, but I’m not sure if that is because of the sodium or the fact my house was way too hot this morning.

Back to the irritability. I would really love some ideas on that. I usually try to be really understanding and I know that she’s a toddler so she will do certain things that toddlers do. Lately though I feel like I’m screaming at her all the time and she’s not doing anything different. I know that part of it is just me getting my emotions under check and I’ve been trying to do that before I react, but any more advice on how to not be mean mama would be great.

7 thoughts on “Placenta Encapsulation

  1. I am mean and I yell too. It sucks. Makes me feel like crappy mom! Sometimes I take my own ‘time-out’ so as to avoid the yelling but sometimes it is a ‘knee-jerk’ reaction and I blurt things out and it’s too late. My husband helps lots and that is a relief to me. Glad to know I’m not alone.

    • I’ve definitely been feeling like a crappy mom. I try to make it up to her by being really nice and playing with her when I’m not cranky, but I still feel awful immediately after I get upset with her. It’s so true that it’s a “knee-jerk” reaction. I just normally have some more time before my knee jerks I suppose!

  2. 7+ months here. Wish I had some magical advice on how not to be cranky– I’m having the same problem. This is my first child, though, so it’s my husband who bears the brunt of it. I apologize a lot, and thankfully he’s been really understanding– even when I yell at him for chewing too loudly.

    • I’m sure I was pretty cranky last time too, but it just wasn’t as noticeable to me because it wasn’t a toddler taking the force of it.

    • Thanks I’ll check out that book. I didn’t have postpartum depression with Peanut, but I was really concerned that I was going to. I have a history of depression and my mother had postpartum, so I was certainly high risk. I tried to do everything to keep myself from getting depressed last time, but back then I didn’t even know about placenta encapsulation. I’m happy to take an extra precaution this time.

      What I did have was milk supply problems. I’ve had them on and off throughout her nursing. It’s always been something that we can bounce back from with extra nursing and some supplementation, but I’d love if I can give my body the fuel it needs to get a good healthy supply from the get go and avoid supply issues in general.

  3. Pingback: Postpartum Aggression « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

