CLOSED-ecoAlternatives Mamacloth Review and Giveaway! Ends 3.27 Worldwide

I’ll be honest, before I had kids, the idea of a reusable menstrual product freaked me out. Then again, the idea of washing something that someone had pooped on also freaked me out. As did newborn babies because of their floppy heads. Alright, that last one still freaks me out. πŸ˜›

I was freaked out by reusable menstrual products regardless of the fact of how much I hated the disposable kind. I’m sure many, if not most, woman hate disposable pads and tampons. They’re just not comfortable. At best they’re uncomfortable and at worse they’re down right irritating. And that’s in your Most. Sensitive. Areas. But like most women, I didn’t know any better.

When I decided to remove my hormonal IUD and use fertility awareness method to prevent pregnancy instead (one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!), my periods consequentially got heavier and more regular. The hormones in the IUD were making me basically just spot occasionally, so I just went back to having a normal period. After going through cloth diapering (and, to be honest, all the other gross things that parents deal with and therefore being desensitized in general), reusable menstrual items didn’t seem so gross. It actually seemed like a great idea. So I got a Diva Cup and fell in love with it, then after using it just a few times decided to have another baby and get knocked up on the first try. That was a short-lived love affair.

So I had a blissful 9 months of no period that comes along with being pregnant. Of course, as all of you mamas out there know, after the baby is born, your body proceeds to make up for that 9 months of missed periods over the time period of a few weeks. And you can’t use tampons, and therefore no Diva Cup. And I hate pads. What was I going to do?

That’s when I found ecoAlternatives. This shop is full of cute mama cloth and other adorable baby items. I decided that if I had to use pads, I might as well make the environmentally (and budget-friendly in the long run) choice to use cloth. Just like with cloth diapers. So I contacted Traci, the very friendly owner of ecoAlternatives, and she happily agreed to send me one for review.

Isn't that cute?!

Traci was nice enough to send me some breast pads too and they are definitely some of my favorites in my rotation. They hold in leaks like no other, but at the same time don’t feel as wet as some of the other breast pads do. I love how cloth breast pads breathe so I don’t have to worry as much about getting thrush again (which I blame on the disposables, along with my lack of knowledge about doing things like airing out my nipples), but often they feel really wet after even little leaks. Some of my breast pads I saved from last time can’t even handle my forceful letdown and leak through constantly. These handle the flow, feel comfortable, and are breathable. Traci must know her stuff when it comes to what fabrics to use!

Once again, aren't those cute?! Traci has great taste in fabric!

Once the first few days of the intense bleeding were over (and the pad was washed post-my water breaking all over it), I happily tried it out. I immediately saw a difference. Mama cloth is fantastic!

Disposable pads hurt. They’re scratchy and give me what basically feels like rug burn (on my Most. Sensitive. Areas!) and just aren’t comfortable. It feels like my underwear is made of scratchy wool. I hate them. My new ecoAlternatives pad, on the other hand, feels comfy! Like incredibly comfy! It’s like a little pillow for my girly bits! That’s especially nice when you’re recovering from birth. Plus no rug burn! I didn’t know I could actually like a pad!

Since the budget is tight right now because of our debt snowball and I was able to get a bunch of disposable pads for free, this is the only reusable pad I used in my postpartum rotation. Every time I had to take off my ecoAlternatives pad and put on a disposable pad again, I was sad. Luckily with a newborn going through so many diapers, it was washed frequently enough that I was still able to wear it every day.

Want to win a set of two cloth pads from ecoAlternatives? Of course you do! (Please leave 1 comment for each entry.)

*Mandatory* Β 1 entry – leave a comment with your favorite ecoAlternatives product on their Etsy store!

1 entry – follow me on Twitter.Β 

1 entry – follow ecoAlternatives on Twitter.

1 entry – Tweet about this giveaway (leave a link to the tweet in the comment)

2 entries (make 2 separate comments) – follow this blog by RSS or email. Β 

2 entries – become a fan of The Adventures of Lactating Girl on Facebook.Β 

2 entries – become a fan of ecoAlternatives on Facebook.

2 entries – blog about this contest (leave a link the comment)Β 

This contest is worldwide. The winner will be chosen on Tuesday, March 27th at 5PM Mountain Standard Time by random. The winner will be emailed and must respond to the email within 48 hours or a new winner will be chosen. Good luck everyone!

Thanks to everyone who entered! The winner is Rachel DeHart.

10 thoughts on “CLOSED-ecoAlternatives Mamacloth Review and Giveaway! Ends 3.27 Worldwide

  1. Hi, just set up to follow your blog. You’re a great writer.
    Of course I’d love an entry for your reusable pads giveaway.

    – Steph

    • I also sent an email at Traci’s store… Didn’t see a place for comments there.

      I love the idea of the washable overnight pads… That’s just what I needed post-partum.

  2. I’m a fan of you on facebook. πŸ™‚ And a huge fan of cloth pads. Have you ever looked at Lunapads? I love them! Switched over to them 5 years ago, after my son was born (and cloth-diapered). The local drug store just started stocking them as well, so now I can avoid paying shipping if I need to buy(or want to buy) more!

  3. Okay, I just went to the etsy store, and the fabrics are so cute! I like the owl print one the best. Her prices are excellent too, and shipping is not too bad to Canada. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

