Green Smoothie Challenge-Week 1

Things are going smoothly (ha!) so far in our green smoothie challenge. It’s actually been interesting on days where I know we’re leaving the house first thing. I thought it would be a huge rush and so difficult, but I’m getting pretty fast at preparing the fruits and veggies and it really doesn’t take me long to get the smoothie ready to go.

So I’ve come up with some green smoothie tips to share with all of you.

Rinse it out immediately. When you’re done drinking or making your smoothie, rinse out the container ASAP. Especially if it’s an odd shaped container that would be difficult to scrub. These things stick like crazy and it won’t come off in the dishwasher.

Taste before you pour. As we learned with the first recipe here, not all fruits taste very good in a smoothie. If I would have tasted the smoothie named Cantaloupe Disaster before we drank it, I would have added something really strong like pineapple to tone down the flavor of the cantaloupe.

Thickening fruit versus flavor fruit. You can add anything to a green smoothie, but you need to keep in mind thickening fruits versus flavor fruits. Things like bananas, apples, avocado (yum healthy fats!), pineapple cores, etc. will thicken the smoothie. This is a good thing, but if you made a smoothie of just the thick fruits, you’d end up with sludge. The flavor fruits are the ones with high water contents such as oranges, lemons, limes, kiwi, berries of any sort, etc. They taste delicious, but won’t make the smoothie thicker. Just use your judgement to tell if a fruit is thickening or flavoring and try to keep a bit of a balance.

So far with our health, I think we’re all feeling pretty good. I’ve had headaches the last few days, but I don’t think it has anything to do with the smoothies. I have felt like I need less coffee in the morning though and I really don’t feel like drinking it after I’ve had my smoothie, even if I half a cup sitting on the counter waiting. I’ve also been craving water more.

Peanut only had that sore tummy for a day and it’s gone. Still don’t know if it was a little bug or smoothie related. She hasn’t been drinking all of her smoothie every day. I encourage her to drink it, but I don’t push it too hard. She drinks a lot more on the days that the smoothie turns out better. Maybe I need to calm down with my adventurous smoothies.

My husband had a few days of a sore stomach, which we’re not sure if it was related to the smoothies or not. He said that his digestive system might feel a bit better than it did at the beginning of the challenge, but overall he’s no better or worse.

I’m 100% sure we’ve had a smoothie every day, but I must have forgotten to add a few of them here and for the life of me I can’t remember them. So since the days don’t add up correctly anymore, I’m making up silly names for each smoothie.

Cantaloupe Disaster

1/4 cantaloupe with seeds, rind removed, chunked

1 small banana, peeled, cut in half

1 kiwi, ends cut off, cut in half

1 apple, cut in half

1 orange with pith, zest removed, cut in half

1/4 avocado, skin removed

spinach to fill the container

ice

This one wasn’t very good. Cantaloupe doesn’t work so well for smoothies in our opinions. 


Old Favorite

1 apple, cut in half

2 oranges with pith, zest removed, cut in half

2 bananas, peeled, cut in half

1/4 avocado, skin removed

5 leaves red chard

spinach to fill the container

ice

I decided to make us an old favorite since yesterday was such a disaster. Turned out great, but the smoothies were a bit smaller than usual. Next time I’ll add something new or another orange and apple. 

 

Twisted Old Favorite

2 apples with everything included, cut in fourths

2 oranges with pith, zest removed, cut in fourths

1/4 pineapple with core, outsides removed, cut in 4 chunks

1/4 avocado, skin removed

1 banana, peeled, broken in half

5 leaves of kale

spinach to fill the container

ice


Green Tropic

4 chunks pineapple with core intact, outsides removed (approximately 1/4 a pineapple)

2 small bananas, peeled, cut in half

1/4 a lemon with pith, zest removed

1/4 a lime with pith, zest removed

2 oranges, zest removed, cut into fourths (trying to make it so I don’t have to use the tamper as much)

1/4 avocado, skin removed

10 leaves of kale

spinach to fill the container

ice

We liked this one, but it was a bit more “green” than the smoothies in the past have been. I think I should have added more fruit than I did. 

 

Tropical Deliciousness

1/4 avocado, skin removed

1/4 pineapple with core, chunked, skin removed

2 oranges with pith, zest removed, cut into chunks

2 bananas, peeled, broken in half

1 kiwi, ends chopped off, cut into chunks

1 leaf collard greens (these things are huge, so you only need one)

spinach to fill the container

ice

This one was delicious! I’ll definitely be making it again. I’m also trying to spend a bit more time at the cutting board so I don’t have to deal with the tamper as much. The Vitamix can certainly handle a whole orange, but I just don’t want to worry about helping it along. 

 

Zesty Delight

2 kiwis, ends removed, cut into chunks

2 oranges with pith, zest removed, cut into chunks

2 apples all included, cut into chunks

1 leaf collard greens

spinach to fill the container

ice

This one was also really good. Got a bit too tangy towards the end, but I still liked it. I forgot our avocado which made me sad. Avocados aren’t a taste thing, but rather just making sure we get those healthy fats. 

Leave a Reply

