Wool Soakers

Peanut still isn’t night trained. She’s good about 50% of the time, but I’m not cool with washing my sheets every other day. I’m also not cool with getting covered in pee when she sleeps in the bed. The problem is, it doesn’t seem like we have any diapers that are 100% leak proof with her these days. I think she just pees so much that it’s hard for the diaper to soak it up fast enough.

With my new found love of wool, I decided I should just knit her a wool cover. I also think that I might buy a couple of Green Mountain Diapers toddler-sized prefolds for her because I love them on Twig. I’ve heard that natural fibers (like the cotton in those prefolds) soak better than non-natural fibers. We’ll have to see.

Anyway, I knit Peanut an extra large soaker from this pattern, and then decided that I would knit a soaker for my friend who’s son is about 2 months old. She told me that at her 6 week midwife check-up that he was just over 11 lbs, so hopefully the size newborn/small will fit him for a while still.

Without further ado:

As you can see, the kitchener stitch seam is a bit tight in Peanut’s soaker. I didn’t leave myself enough yarn, but this link (from the pattern) is awesome for learning how to do the kitchener stitch. Just make sure you give yourself LOTS of extra. I felt like I gave myself way too much extra on the second soaker, but I still could have done with more. Peanut’s is also a bit big on her (even with me doing a test swatch). Not that soakers can really be too big, but just a little saggy on her. I’m planning on felting it a bit (extra protection against leaks!) and then I’ll post more pictures of it. The small soaker is exactly how I wanted it. We’ll have to see how it actually fits her baby.

In this project I learned the kitchener stitch as well ask how to pick up stitches to knit more (on the legs). I also learned how to make a {really ugly} crochet chain for the ties! It was fast and fun. I’d definitely recommend this pattern. They were knitted with Coats & Clark Royal Mouline Knitting Worsted 100% Virgin Wool. The yarn was nice to knit with, but had more breaks than I’m happy with, so I wouldn’t recommend it.

And now the winner of the Zinny Jane wool soaker!!! 

There were 70 entries in the giveaway and the winner was entry number 7.

Which is this comment:

Congratulations Donna! I’ve emailed you and you have 48 hours to respond. Thanks again to all those who entered!

2 thoughts on “Wool Soakers

  1. Thanks again – I’ve been cloth diapering for over two years now and am excited to try out wool on my youngest!

  2. Pingback: EviePants Soakers | Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

