Green Smoothie Challenge Update

So I’ve gotten really bad at updating about this challenge. I’ve also gotten really bad about keeping track of the recipes I do. I’ve tried taking pictures of the smoothies before I blend them to help me write down the recipes, but the problem with that is that I sometimes add more fruit based on how it tastes and I don’t add the greens until it’s blended once. I can tell you that all of my smoothies have 1/4 an avocado, spinach to fill the container, some sort of other green (generally 1-5 leaves, depending on the green), and ice. Beyond that, I’m trying new combinations every day.

So how are we feeling? My husband still can’t give me a clear answer on if he feels better or not, but he complains when I don’t give him a smoothie. One day that I forgot (I have a horrible memory), he told me that was why Peanut was complaining of a stomach ache. Though she’s not drinking as much of hers as I’d like. I think I may have scared her off with a few crazy ones I tried.

How do I feel? I can describe it in one word: vitality. I just feel great. Full of life. It sounds corny to me as I type it, but it’s truly how I feel. I’m accidentally forgetting to take my placenta pill more often and I don’t even realize until the next day. I’m sure that it’s not just the green smoothies. It’s pretty much impossible for other factors to not cause an effect on real-life experiments, but I’m certain that they’re helping me. I feel better on days that I’ve had a smoothie in the morning.

We’ve started drinking bigger smoothies. I always fill my husband’s cup to 24 ounces (used to do 20 ounces) and then I fill Peanut’s cup and mine (both of which don’t have ounces written on them like his). If I’ve filled Peanut’s and mine is as high as it’ll go (which should be over 24 ounces because it fits over 3 cups), I give my husband some more. We’re also putting more greens in than we used to, mostly increasing whatever the non-spinach green is for the day. We rotate that green between collard greens (which I now add 2-3 leaves), swiss/red chard (at least 5 leaves), and green/red kale (at least 5 leaves). If anyone has some recommendations on other greens we can add, I’d love to hear them. Probably about a year ago I tried romaine lettuce in a smoothie and thought it was gross. I’m sure there are other things we can try though.

I’m also looking into what other vegetables we can add. I feel like our fruit drawer is constantly needing to be refilled, but our veggie drawer not so much. My husband really doesn’t like V8-type drinks, so a full on veggie smoothie or juice is out of the question, but I’d like to sneak other things in the same way I’ve done the avocado (which I can’t taste whats-so-ever). Maybe I’ll start experimenting with it. Toss in a carrot? How about a stick of celery? Or a tomato?!? Little bits at a time to see if we can tell the difference or not.

Now you get some recipes! (I’m not putting info on chopping anymore because you really have to do what your blender requires)

Citrus-y Goodness

1/2 pineapple including core, tough skin removed

2 oranges with pith, zest removed

1/2 lime with pith, zest removed

1/2 lemon with pith, zest removed

1 banana peeled

1/4 avocado with skin removed

6 leaves red chard

spinach to fill the container (about 2 handfuls as much as I can possibly grab at once)

ice (about two big handfuls and a little handful)

Strawberry Old Favorite

2 apples with everything included

2 oranges with pith, zest removed

12 strawberries with everything included

1/4 avocado, skin removed

3 small-ish leaves of collard greens

spinach to fill the container

ice

Holy Moly How Many Limes?!?

3 limes with pith, zest removed

1/2 lemon with pith, zest removed

3 oranges with pith, zest removed

1 apple with everything included

1/4 avocado, skin removed

5 leaves of red chard

spinach to fill the container

ice

Strawberry Banana

15 strawberries with everything included

3 bananas, peeled

1 apple with everything included

1/4 avocado, skin removed

2 big leaves collard greens

spinach to fill the container

ice

Leave a Reply

