A New Thank You to My Husband

I know this is a bit late, but with all the illness passing around our house, Father’s Day didn’t get to be super special, even on the blog. I wrote this post a while back thanking my husband for all of the things he’s done and it’s been pretty popular, so I figured I’d revamp it. 

It’s easy to thank someone for the monumental things they do. That one time they rocked your world, so to speak. It’s more difficult to thank them daily for the things they do that just keep your world spinning. My husband does so many things for us every day that I simply can’t imagine a life without him. Sadly, I need to be better at thanking him for it. So, for this late-Father’s Day, I decided I’d give it a try.

Thank you for making sure I wake up to a load of clean diapers.

Thank you for having patience with Peanut when I’m at the end of my rope.

Thank you for holding Twig for five precious minutes of baby-free bathroom time.

Thank you for reminding me that I’m still a woman, even when I don’t want to hear it.

Thank you for trying your hardest to make sure Peanut understands sarcasm before any other kid her age.

Thank you for running upstairs to grab me something 3 feet away because I’m nursing the baby to sleep.

Thank you for not complaining when the house is a mess.

Thank you for happily trying out all my crunchy ideas (and surprising me by liking many of them!).

Thank you for not only supporting me, but becoming an advocate yourself.

Thank you for responding to my endless number of texts every day when you’re already busy enough at work.

Speaking of, thank you for supporting our family financially.

And thank you for agreeing that I should stay home to raise the girls, even though it wasn’t your first choice.

Thank you for watching movies and tv shows with me after the girls have gone to bed.

Thank you for dealing with my crazies.

Thank you for being the only person in the world who doesn’t complain that Twig favors me above all others, but rather telling everyone that of course she does because she’s a baby.

Thank you for letting me complain at you about everything.

And thank you for never taking it personal when I am complaining about everything.

Thank you for getting up out of bed to put a Word World on for Peanut so I can sleep a half hour longer and you know it’s harder for me to fall back asleep.

Thank you for always being honest, even when it’s not the nice or easy thing to say.

Thank you for being an avid reader of my blog (Yeah, I see you!).

Thank you for pausing the game you’d rather watch live so you can play with the girls.

Thank you for letting me use our finances to retrain myself in how to handle money.

Thank you for not getting mad when I screw up figuring out how to handle money.

Thank you for caring about all the cute little things the girls do.

Thank you for giving me adult conversation when you get home.

Thank you for accepting me for who I am and reminding me of where to find that girl when I’ve lost her.

Thank you for loving our girls.

Thank you for loving me.

Leave a Reply

