Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Peanut is a cereal freak. I don’t blame her because that stuff is delicious, but it’s been rubbing me the wrong way since she started eating it. You see, no matter what the claims are for fortified with vitamins and blah blah blah, cereal isn’t good for you. It’s horribly processed, even the no color less sugar kinds have too much sugar, and not to mention it’s expensive.

So over the past few months, we’ve been making a transition away from cereal. By a transition, I mostly mean that I stopped buying it.* When it’s in the house Peanut asks for it morning, noon, and night until it’s gone. She still only gets it for breakfast, but she loves it so much that she seriously wants it every meal. She would even have fits that she couldn’t have cereal for dinner. Honestly, I feel weary of anything that she wants that intensely. Can it possibly be good for her if it tastes that good? Even if it is good for her and tastes that good, I don’t want my child to have that kind of relationship with food. Food is good and delicious, but worth having a fit over? I think not.

Anyway, but to the cereal.

So we stopped buying it. I started cooking breakfast every morning and it hasn’t been that difficult. The problem is I can only have pancakes or egg sandwiches so many times. I was still craving a cold breakfast. It’s not cold, but making oatmeal is partially filled that void. Oatmeal is great because I can add anything I want to it to make it delicious and nutritious (you see what I did there?!). It’s taken some time to wean the sugar out of our oatmeal because Peanut’s oatmeal in the past has been those packets of sugar that she’s had at her grandma’s house. I bought some for here because she loved them so much and WOW I was surprised at how sugary they are. I couldn’t even eat mine. Anyway, we started off simple with butter and brown sugar, but since have branched into adding fruits and nuts and other deliciousness.

In my experimentation I came up with this delicious recipe and wanted to share it. It’s awesomely delicious, sugar-free, and good for you! Yay!

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Rolled oats, enough for 2 servings
Water
1 Gala, Honeycrisp, or other sweetish apple
Cinnamon
Butter

Boil amount water as directed by the oats package. While it’s boiling, core the apple and cut it into big-ish chunks (I generally quarter it, quarter the quarts, and then slice up those in the other direction half a dozen or so times). Once you have the water at a rolling boil, add the apples, then the oats. Reduce heat to medium and stir it around for a few minutes, making sure to get all the oats wet. Remove from heat and put lid on, let it sit for about 5 minutes. Add a tablespoon or two of butter and a tablespoon or two of cinnamon (I eyeball just about everything when cooking, so I’m not 100% sure on those measurements).

I love this recipe because the apples are sweet enough that it doesn’t need sugar at all. The girls love it (Twig especially loves picking out the cinnamony apples) and even my husband likes it. This recipe gives plenty for our little family of four and some more left over, which can be re-heated on the stove or even eaten cold.

Happy cooking!

* I will admit that we’ve boughten some cereal. After not buying any for a few months, it’s not a huge deal like it used to be. I’ve made the compromise that we can have 2 kinds in the house at once and they have to be organic and on sale. Giving these criteria means that we eat a lot less, which I’m okay with. Since buying the two boxes a few weeks ago, we’ve only had cereal twice. 

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. This is What we do too!! Oats ie such a great breakfast! I am all for the quickness though, and have found that u can still microwave rolled oats into perfection! We usually do 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, apples and cinnamon, microwaved for 3:45 on high and then let it sit and cool for a fee minutes. I love the texture better than stovetop too.

Leave a Reply

