Cowl and Hat to Match

Now that Christmas is over, I can start sharing the gifts I made! I knitted almost everyone’s gifts. It made for a stressful few months (especially this last one once school was over), but I think it was worth it. I made things I think will really be enjoyed and they’re beautiful (a far cry from last year!) and from the heart. I put hours into these gifts and they’re one of a kind. I think that’s what Christmas is really about.

Anyway, onto the project.

My mom and myself, circa 2004. Wow, that black hair was an interesting stage.

My mom and myself, circa 2004. Wow, that black hair was an interesting stage. Not to mention the contacts. Hrm.

For my mom’s birthday in October, I made her a cowl. For as long as I can remember, she had hair all the way down her back. A few years ago, I convinced her to shorten it a bit. After that, she just kept going! Now it’s this fun spikey length and it looks great on her, but leaves her poor neck bare in the winter! I figured a cowl would solve that problem in a jiffy!

Peanut modeling the cowl.

Peanut modeling the cowl.

I made the cowl from this pattern (Ravelry link), which includes a large and small version. Originally my plan was to make the larger version because I love big scarves myself, but I realized that with her super short hair that it might be a little overpowering, so I went with the small one. I used Stitch Nation Washable Ewe yarn and it worked perfectly.

The pattern of the cowl.

The pattern of the cowl.

With my mom’s new do, it takes a bit of styling in the morning to get it all fun and spikey like it’s supposed to be. That’s all fine and well, but some mornings she just doesn’t have the time or desire to do it. Since I know it bothers her to go out in public without her hair done, I immediately thought of knitting her a hat for Christmas. When I found this pattern (Ravelry link) (notice how she mentions bad hair days) I fell in love! It’s fun and cute and perfect for wearing over your hair when it’s not done without making it look like it’s not done, if that makes sense. I even had enough of the yarn left over to make it a matching set!

Hat from the side (that's me wearing it, not my mom).

Hat from the side (that’s me wearing it, not my mom).

Look at that pattern!

Look at that pattern!

I borrowed the hat when we went to see the lights one night and I realized that I didn’t have a hat (working on a remedy for that as we speak!) and I must say, I’m a tad bit jealous. I almost wanted to keep it for myself. Alas, I gave it to her. Hopefully she puts it to good use. It appeared to be a hit on Christmas day! I did have to show her how to properly wear a slouchy hat though. It looked great on her too!

I’d definitely recommend both of these patterns, as well as this yarn. The patterns both work better with a circular (either magic loop or to size, depending on your preference) because I had a bunch of issues with my DPNs trying to drop stitches. I’d also recommend going down a needle size on the brim of the hat if you want the hat to be secure on your head. It’s nice and loose and pretty as is, but since I have kids and therefore I am constantly moving my head around and up and down and all over, it was a tad loose for me. Other than that though, they’re both great projects and beautiful!

3 thoughts on “Cowl and Hat to Match

  1. You did a lovely job on both hat and cowl! Have you every tried knitting with 2 circular needles at the same time? I can’t quite grasp magic loop, and my circular needles are not that flexible (I have a set of interchangeable Denise needles), so I will often knit hats on a 16 inch circular needle, then as I start to decrease the crown, I will add a second circular to carry half of the stitches. It reduces the laddering between dpns, and is a lot quicker in my mind!

    • I haven’t, but I’ve heard of that method for gloves and socks. My only problem is that I don’t like buying two circulars of the same size. 😛

      How I reduce the ladders on DPNs is whenever I get to the point where I finish the stitches on one needle, I knit one stitch onto that needle from the next needle, if that makes sense. Then the gap is always rotating and doesn’t have a chance to form a ladder.

Leave a Reply

