13 in 2013

I’ve already made my feelings on resolutions clear to you all in the past, but I’ve gotten sucked up reading all the blog posts and other such things with people talking about their goals for the next year. While I don’t believe in the kind of resolutions that are way out of the realm of possibility, I do have some things I’ve been working on for a bit or would like to start working on. So I’ve decided, for posterity’s sake, to put them into words.

So here, in no particular order, is my list of 13 goals for 2013.

  1. Keep one week ahead on blog posts. I’ve already been doing this one and it’s working out pretty well. It gives me a bit of a cushion when life gets away from me and it gives my brain a little time to ponder if I want to change wording or even decide not to post something. That’s why this post is being published January 9th even though I wrote it on the first. 😛
  2. Get down on the floor with the girls. Sometimes in the rush of day to day life, I forget to just get down and play with my girls. Or even when I do, I often feel the tug of the laundry that needs to be switched or chemistry that needs to be read. Playing tea party with my girls isn’t just fun, it’s an important part of our relationship and their development.
  3. Spontaneously tell my family that I love them every day. While I definitely tell each of my girls and my husband “I love you” every day, it’s generally as a part of saying goodbye or goodnight. While I’m sure that I won’t work it in every single day, I’d like to try to say it as many days as I can.
  4. Cook more and plan my cooking more. Meal planning really does make things less stressful, but for some reason I can’t even keep the habit of doing it. Then when I don’t meal plan, I see it as an excuse to go out. While I’m definitely not one of those people who would ever be happy never going out or only at rare occasions, I do want to plan more meals. And when I don’t get around to planning, I want to cook anyway.
  5. Keep my grades up. Last semester I did really well in school. I ended the semester with a B+ in chemistry and an A in physiology. Yeah, it kicked my butt, but it was worth it. This semester I’m now a TA for the physiology course (which takes over my one credit hour needed to be 3/4 time instead of 1/2 time), my second chemistry class (which is basically an extension of the first), and public speaking. I know my own studying style and what I need in order to do well, so I’m going to take advantage of that knowledge and use it. Especially considering next year we have to start paying for my schooling because I’m out of pell grants and we aren’t taking out any more student loans.
  6. Listen to music more. Especially if anyone is grumpy. Music makes us happy. Turning it on when we’re all in a grumpy mood just makes all all feel better. Singing as we do normal tasks makes them more fun. I need to take advantage of these facts.
  7. Go to bed with an empty sink. A sink full of dishes just makes me stressed out, but I hate doing them. I feel like it’s a task that I’m always behind on and never ends. If I go to bed with an empty sink then at least I’m starting the day fresh with this task. Bonus points for clearing and cleaning the counters.
  8. Drink more water. Not drink less caffeine, but just drink more water. By default, doing one will do the other, but I won’t feel guilty when I need a little pick-me-up.
  9. Eat more veggies. Especially leafy greens. I just feel better when I do.
  10. Sleep more. One hour of sleep makes the difference between a grumpy mama and a happy mama. Sleep is a priority.
  11. Knit a Christmas gift each month. No more mad rush to do all the Christmas gifts from October to December (and quite a bit of freaking out on the tail end of that). I’ve joined a group on Ravelry and I already have my January gift planned out, though it’s going to have to wait until I finish the birthday gifts for this month.
  12. Let go of the phone. I do not need to be attached to my phone 24 hours a day. Checking Facebook can wait. I don’t get emails that are so urgent that I must check my mail 6 times a day. I don’t need to multitask all of the time.
  13. Read to the girls before bed. “If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairytales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairytales.” – Albert Einstein
  14. And one more just for fun. Stay home more. Sometimes in the rush of life I get into the habit of staying outside of the house as much as my husband who is working a full-time {paid} job. These past few weeks we’ve spent many a days just hanging out at home and it’s been lovely. Everything just feels so much more calm and in order when we’re home. Everyone gets routines, less gas and money are spent, and we’re all just happier. It’s going to be more difficult to do as Peanut and I start school again this week, but I’m still going to work to be at home more often.

So that’s my list. Hopefully it gives me a little bit of accountability without guilt and having it all written down helps me to remember my goals and keep them towards the front of my mind as life gets more hectic again.

What are your resolutions? 

3 thoughts on “13 in 2013

  1. Ooooh, so much of this sounds so very familiar! I hate waking up to a sink full of dirty plates as well. So I’ll join you on that one! Or maybe not tonight anymore. But definitely tomorrow!! 😉

    Will try to join you on most of the others as well actually. Almost all of them apply to me!

  2. Pingback: Alternative Taco Salad | Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

