Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSC_0095

You know you want to make these. No, they’re not healthy for you. Actually, they’re probably incredibly unhealthy for you. Especially since, if you’re anything like me, you’ll eat about 6 before you’re done getting all of them out of the oven (okay, I have a bit of a sweet tooth). But you know what, an occasional unhealthy treat is still healthy. Everything in moderation, right?

I also know that this isn’t a cooking blog, but I’ve been reading a lot of The Pioneer Woman Cooks and watching a lot of Good Eats lately and it’s giving me an urge to share on the blog. Also, I’m attempting to make Wednesdays (in a trying to post Monday, Wednesday, and Friday as a general schedule, though other days may be added at times) my off-topic days. It makes me feel less guilty about talking about things that have nothing to do with lactation and parenting. Though I suppose that I could make an argument that eating cookies helps me make milk (maybe a bit of a stretch). Probably extra sweet milk.

I wish I could tell you where I found this recipe. If someone recognizes it, let me know so I can give some credit. I know it was on a box or bag of something from the store about 6 years ago. I’ve been making them since and, have I mentioned yet that they’re delicious? Man, I really want some more. I knew I shouldn’t have shared them! Speaking of sharing them, they’re a hit at any sort of get together.

DSC_0051

First off, you start with your lovely ingredients. Yes, that’s a box of chocolate pudding in there. Pumpkin, banana, coffee maker, and 3 year old wearing a babydoll on her back (or the baby on your own back, for that matter) not required.

DSC_0052

Take the wet ingredients (butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla) and cream them.

DSC_0056

Attempt not to eat the delicious buttery egg sugar cream. Mmm…

DSC_0058

Add the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, chocolate pudding mix). Make sure to sift that flour so you don’t end up with stiff cookies.

DSC_0059

Mix it around with a spoon until it’s thoroughly mixed. If you have crazy people in your family *cough*my husband*cough* who don’t like white chocolate, now is a good time to spoon off a sheet of chip-free cookies and stick them in the oven.

DSC_0066

Add white chocolate chips and mix them around faster than the 3 year old can take them out. I use 1/2 bag because of taking some dough out for the white chocolate hater, as well as my dislike for too many chips.

DSC_0074

Give the 3 year old the wooden spoon to keep her occupied so she stops trying to steal cookie dough. Yeah, I’m that mom. I’m okay with it.

DSC_0084

Spoon them onto an ungreased cookie sheet (or in my case, grease it because it’s in need of replacement and likes to steal chips out of cookies) about the size of a small spoon and cook them at 350 for 8-10 minutes. I start checking them at the lower time (or even lower, if your oven runs high) and if they still look wet on top, go for another minute and then check again. You want to get them out before they really start browning on the edges (there might be a very slight amount, but significant browning will end up with a not-so-perfect cookie). They should be crunchy on the outside and cakey on the inside. Mmm…

Here’s the recipe without pictures:

1 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 box chocolate pudding mix
1 bag white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350. Cream butter and wet ingredients. Mix in dry ingredients. Add chips. Spoon onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.

Now go make some cookies! And enjoy them without guilt! I think I’ll go make some more too. Mmm…

One thought on “Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

