Alternative Taco Salad

As I mentioned in my new years un-resolutions, I’m trying to eat more leafy greens. I think that when you’re trying something new, it’s best to start simple, which is why I created this salad. Well, that and the fact that I’ve been obsessed with Cafe Rio lately and I can’t justify going there as often as I’d like.

I love taco salad, but I wanted to put more emphasis on the greens. So here’s an extra emphasis on the green (full disclosure, I actually added another few leaves of lettuce after this picture was taken because I got to the end of the lettuce long before the end of the everything else) in this salad. Not that there’s anything wrong with the delicious taco salad tortilla bowl, but it’s not super quick and easy and healthy.

DSC_0156

So, here’s the recipe. It’s really more of using what I have and what sounds good, so it’s not a very traditional recipe. I’m not going to give you amounts, because it’s largely up to taste!

First, heat the beans (I’ve been liking pinto, but black are also very good in this). While they’re heating, rip up some lettuce (I like romaine because iceburg is more like green sugar nutritionally). Shred some cheese on top (I usually use cheddar). Add some other taco-friendly mix-ins, such as olives or tomatoes. Crumple some tortilla chips on top. Add a big glob of sour cream and another of salsa and mix around to coat. Yum!

What are your favorite leafy green recipes? 

Leave a Reply

