Knock, Knock?

DSC_0027

Taking a break from running in circles to put another orange in her mouth.

Who’s there? 
Banana.
Banana who?
Knock, knock?
Who’s there? 
Banana.
Banana who?
Knock, knock?
Who’s there? 
Banana.
Banana who?
Knock, knock?
Orange.
Orange who?
Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

Alright, in all seriousness, I’m talking about oranges today. You know, that delicious fruit that’s cheap this time of year? Yeah, it’s the same one that’s generally a super mess, especially with kids. All the peeling, then the chunks that come apart perfectly adult sized–or perfectly sized for children squirting juice everywhere. Well, I’ve come up with a not-so-messy probably not-at-all-creative-but-I-feel-unique way to give oranges to little ones. I’m sure I’m the 50 billionth mom to come up with this idea, but when I did it felt like I had an epiphany, so I want to give you an epiphany too! And there are pictures!

DSC_0006

 

First, cut off the ends of the orange (not entirely necessary, but it makes things easier, especially if there’s a bunch of rind on the end or it’s misshaped). Then cut it into quarters. It’s missing a quarter because my children were screaming at me Moar Oranges!!! so I had to cut them up some real quick before I could take my pictures.

DSC_0008

Take each quarter and cut it in half.

DSC_0010

 

Now this is where the oranges turn from adult-sized to child-sized. Cut lines down the orange so that each section is in quarters. Make sure you get down into the rind slightly, but not so far that you actually cut through it.

DSC_0012

 

This is what it should look like post cutting.

DSC_0016

 

Now use your thumb to push the pieces out of the orange. This works particularly well if you have long-ish nails.

DSC_0019

 

Now give them to your children to devour! If your kids are anything like mine, they’ll gobble them up as fast as you can cut them. Twig makes the most funny faces when she’s eating oranges, but then begs for more. Peanut loves them too. And they’re not perfectly mess-free, but much better than when my children needed baths after eating oranges! Try it out sometime!

Leave a Reply

