Breastfeeding and the LDS Church

For those of you who know me, you probably know I’m not LDS. I do have many, many friends that are (I’m in Utah, for Pete’s sake!) and I’ve been a long time fan of this post by Tophat about breastfeeding and modesty. It was through Tophat’s post that I first heard about this incident and I am deeply upset for this mother and about what she’s going through. I’ll turn the time over to my friend Megan. Please help out if you are able. 

A dear friend of mine is being released from her Young Womens calling tomorrow for breastfeeding at church. Furthermore, she has been told that if anyone complains in any other meeting, be that sacrament meeting, Sunday School, or Relief Society, she is to leave the room or cover to nurse from that point on. She was also told that if she does not comply, she is not sustaining her leaders and her recommend could be at risk.

We are collecting letters of support for breastfeeding in church to send to the First Presidency and Scott Trotter, LDS spokesperson. We will send all of the letters we have received on March 29th, 2013. Please email letters to ldslactivist@gmail.com

Suggestions for letters include: personal experiences of breastfeeding in church (good or bad), requests for a statement that breastfeeding in church is acceptable in the Church Handbook of Instructions, and why you think it is important for breastfeeding to be accepted in church. Please pass this along to anyone you feel might be interested in writing a letter.

One thought on “Breastfeeding and the LDS Church

  1. Have you seen the blog Ask Mormon Girl (http://askmormongirl.wordpress.com/)? It’s another that I follow, and its author (Joanna Brooks) might be someone to mention this to. (Even though I’m not LDS, either, I’ve found Joanna’s blog to be wonderful—it’s taught me so much about Mormon Feminism.)

Leave a Reply

