Mom and Daughter Hats

Hello world! Life, once again, is hectic in the LG household. After doing a speech, studying for my organic chemistry test, and taking another quiz, it’s finally spring break. Right in time for Twig to get sick. So, rather than writing a real post as I was planning on this morning, I’m going to give ya’ll another knitting one in the short period of the that the wee one (and big sister) zone out in front of Yo Gabba Gabba. Enjoy!

Right after Christmas, my friend Jeannette asked me to make some hats for her and her daughter. She bought the yarn, which was Patons Classic Wool Roving in Dark Grey for the main hat and Bernat Alpaca Natural Blends in Aqua for the trim. They’re both bulky, which made these hats super quick. I knit the small one up in just over a day, but the problem was the edging.

IMG_0019

When she first asked me to knit her earflap hats, I found the Thorpe pattern and sent it to her. She said it was perfect and we went along with the project. I didn’t inspect it closely though and didn’t realize that the edging is crochet. I’m an absolute crochet novice, being that I can only do a chain. The last time I tried to crochet a rose for a headband, I gave up after about 5 minutes. This time though, I wasn’t going to give up. I was ready to take it to some crochet-wise friends at a yarn group, but I found this video explaining how to do it and it was exactly what I needed.

IMG_0196

 

All in all, it was a nice project. It was quick enough that I didn’t get bored with the circles and circles of knit stitch. Then the edging was a challenge and I’m happy I learned how to do it. Makes me feel confident enough to maybe try crocheting a wash cloth! I liked this hat so much that I ended up making one for Peanut, which will be featured in a post to come. Now, here are some cute pictures of my friend and her daughter in their matching hats. She said they’re super warm and comfy.

IMG_0303

Cute picture.

 

IMG_0304

Silly picture.

One thought on “Mom and Daughter Hats

  1. Pingback: Preschool Set | Adventures of Lactating Girl

Leave a Reply

