Peanut’s Birthday Present: Doll-sized Mei Tai

IMG_0555In my post Wednesday, I shared this picture of Peanut wearing her new birthday present. Since I’ve had some questions, I figured I’d do a post about it!

I don’t know about you, but I’ve seen a lot of doll-sized mei tai tutorials. The problem is that with most of them, they assume you’re pretty good at sewing. I started sewing back in high school because there were no other classes I could take in that time slot and there was no point in going home, since it was neither at the beginning or end of the school day, so I’d have to come back. I was never interested in taking the “easy A” classes, so I hadn’t even considered taking sewing in the past. Since I had to take this class, I decided that I was going to rock it. Quickly I became one of my teacher’s favorite students (I’m not making it up, she told me so) and I was doing projects much more difficult than the cotton-pajama-pants-from-a-pattern that the rest of the class was doing.

So when I took sewing back up a few years later, I figured I’d excel with it. The problem is that those more-difficult-than-the-rest-of-the-class projects were still pretty dang easy. I became discouraged and pretty much quit. Recently though, I decided I wanted to start again, so I gave myself a goal of sewing half an hour each day. I figure that half an hour is enough to develop the skill, but not drive myself nuts with frustration doing it. I definitely don’t get to it all days, or even most days, but I’m slowly working on it.

So back to the tutorial.

I found this tutorial on The Shopping Mama and thought it was super cute. As I read through it, I realized it was perfect for me. She details to the T how to do each step. Nothing is assumed that you should already know it. She even goes as far as telling you that you should wash, dry, and iron your fabric before starting. Yes, for an advanced sewer it may be too much, but for me it’s perfect. I told my husband that I was going to just start it. Maybe only get as far as cutting out the pieces. Two hours later, I came down to show him the finished product. And there were zero frustrations throughout the whole thing. It was lovely.

I spent a total of $6.89 for this whole project, with a ton of left over fabric. I bought it at Joann’s, the fabric was on sale, and I had a 20% off all fabric (sale and not) coupon. And since the solid pink fabric was almost gone, I got just over half a yard extra with the end of bolt price (which is $1.01 of that price). Without the coupon (or the extra half a yard), it would have cost about $10.50. This is all assuming you already have thread that will work for the project and some extra fleece or batting sitting around. That’s a super cheap birthday present! And she’s loving it!

Here are some close-ups.

DSC_0094

DSC_0101

One thought on “Peanut’s Birthday Present: Doll-sized Mei Tai

  1. That’s adorable! I made a child-sized mei tai for my daughter for her second birthday, but I didn’t even look for an online tutorial, so mine’s just a square of fabric and some straps. I used some purple brocade with a butterfly pattern on it that I had leftover from a yoga mat bag I made and backed it with unbleached muslin (leftover from another project). It’s pretty rough, but it’s lasted well, and the kids still use it from time to time. Not bad for a couple of hours and some leftover fabric!

    Yours is way more adorable than mine is, though. I love the little headrest bit at the top! That’s something that the girls can use for years and even pass down to their children. Good going, Mama!

Leave a Reply

