Pregnant and Healthy During Cold and Flu Season

Today’s post is a guest post from Katie Moore. It’s not winter anymore, but that doesn’t mean that we’re all suddenly immune from illness. It was about this time last year that Peanut and my husband came down with whooping cough. So keep these healthy tips in mind year around, pregnant or not!

dreaming insideWhen I was pregnant with Lily during the winter months, my friends teased me about being the “germ Police.” I was in my second trimester of pregnancy right in the middle of cold and flu season. I knew that if I got sick, I could endanger my unborn baby.

Some people believe that coughs and colds during the winter are inevitable, but during my pregnancy, I was unwilling to concede that I was going to spend most of the winter with stopped-up noses and sore throats. I did a little research and developed a strategy to boost our immune systems and avoid viruses.

Get plenty of rest
I learned that people who get less than seven hours of sleep each night are much more likely to get sick than those who get adequate rest. I was careful to tuck myself (and my husband!) into bed on time, and we made rest a priority. Last winter, I opted out of my book club just because it kept me up too late. At that time, staying healthy was more important to me than extra activities.

Avoid sugars
In my research, I also found studies that indicated that sugar suppresses the immune response of the body. I already knew that too much sugar was bad for me, but after I read the study, I was really motivated to eliminate all sugar from our diets. This decision did not make me popular with my husband, but I knew it was for the best.

Get plenty of Vitamins D and C
I found plenty of research to support the fact that a diet high in Vitamins C and D helps keep the immune system in top form. I loaded my plate with green vegetables, and had fruit smoothies several times a week. I also incorporated plenty of fish in my diet. We took multivitamins every day to make sure that our bodies were fully capable of fighting viruses.

Rest and hydrate at the first sign of illness.
We had a few sore throats and sniffy noses, but at the first signs of illness, I made sure that we went right to bed and drank plenty of fluids. We never got very sick at all with this strategy. After just a day or two or rest and hydration, we felt much better and were able to continue with our everyday activities.

Wash your hands and be careful.
I really wasn’t a the “germ Police,” but I was very careful about avoiding exposure to people who I knew were sick. Even my mom was uninvited to my house when I found out that she’d had a bad cold two days before. I was kind but very firm when I asked if we could reschedule our visit. I didn’t go overboard with hand washing and hand sanitizer, but we always washed before meals and tried to keep our hands away from my face.

I feel that I was very successful with my strategy for avoiding illness last winter. My husband ended up with a slight cold, and most of the winter, we felt better than we ever have. Make sure to consult with your doctor before making any major changes. I was able to talk to my doctor about everything- nutrition, swaddling, cord blood options and more! It was so nice to get through winter without weeks of illness!

KatieKatie Moore has written and submitted this article. Katie is an active blogger who discusses the topics of, motherhood, children, fitness, health and all other things Mommy. She enjoys writing, blogging, and meeting new people! To connect with Katie contact her via her blog, Moore From Katie or her twitter, @moorekm26

Leave a Reply

