The Spitter

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about breastfeeding myths and dispelling them. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 22nd through August 4th!
 


 

Both of my babies have been world-class spitters.

With Peanut, it was so much spit up so constantly that she wore half a dozen outfits a day. I got tired of doing so much laundry, so she donned a perma-bib to keep a handle on it. With Twig, she would spit up so forcefully that it would actually go over my shoulder when I was burping her. She never did need the same amount of outfit changes, but we’ll just say there’s a good reason we ripped out all our carpet on our main level last year.

Would you believe me if I said that only one of them had reflux?

Many people did not. It was Peanut that had the reflux, but it was Twig who had the epic spits that would draw everyone’s attention to figure out what that huge splat was in the middle of Target. I had a woman once tell me in Lowes that I needed to take her to the doctor. My neighbor was convinced she had some weird stomach condition. I knew my child and just knew it was something she would grow out of.

You see, there was one major difference between Peanut’s and Twig’s spit, and it wasn’t distance traveled. When Peanut spit up, it was awful for her. She would scream and cry until she finally got it out, then you could see the relief. If she went too long between eating (which didn’t happen often), she would scream an obviously painful scream. Twig would just spit out of nowhere and not seem to even realize it had happened.

The myth I’m debunking today is that all spitting up means something is wrong. It’s not a breastfeeding-specific myth, but it directly effects a lot of breastfeeding relationships. I’ve talked to multiple friends that stopped nursing because the doctor said that their baby spitting up that much meant they were allergic to breast milk (which, by the way, is incredibly rare and would mean the baby is also allergy to proteins found in formula and would have a very low chance of survival). I’m actually one of those babies that was supposedly allergic to my mom’s milk, which is why I only nursed for a couple months.

The truth is that spitting up can be normal-even in excess. Yes, it can also be an indication of an allergy (to something the mom eats, not her milk), reflux, and some other issues. The majority of the time though, it’s just something that babies do. So keep on breastfeeding, even when it seems like it all comes right back up.

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

5 thoughts on “The Spitter

  1. That’s an interesting myth. I didn’t have much of a spitter, but it’s true that I would have assumed a problem had she been. It takes some investigating and unfortunately getting ill advice from those you ask (mainly doctors!) will lead many of us to give up on the whole thing. Great post.

  2. My first did this too, it was before I had heard that spitting up could be an indication of allergies so I’ve wondered since then if he did have a allergy I missed. Like your 2nd though he did not show any discomfort. He would just puke then either fall asleep or feed again. Luckily, my 2nd did not have much spitting up, which meant much less laundry 😀

  3. My baby boy has sensitivities to both dairy and soy. With his reflux we had some experimenting to do to figure it out. Now we’re all better at 4 months!

    Great post. Thanks, Claire!

Leave a Reply

