Why I Started This Blog

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about helping other moms succeed in their breastfeeding journeys. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 22nd through August 4th!
 


 

In all actuality, I started this blog before Peanut was born on Blogger because I was bored and wanted to chronicle my life with a new baby. About 6 months later, I switched over to WordPress and changed the name to The Adventures of Lactating Girl.

But why am I Lactating Girl?

In the first six months of Peanut’s life, I realized a few important things about breastfeeding. First off, breastfeeding is not only a wonderful way to feed your baby, but massively superior to formula. Second, the formula companies want to convince you otherwise and will do anything possible to deteriorate your breastfeeding relationship in order to make some money. And lastly, the formula companies have done so well that many people find breastfeeding in public to be offensive.

With these things in mind and passion reigning in my heart, I made up a breastfeeding superhero. She fights for the rights of breastfeeding moms. Sure, it’s all make believe, but I think that Lactating Girl has given me courage and that’s what I hope for other moms too. I hope that she gives the courage to breastfeed in public, to breastfeed at all, to tell others they are wrong when they try to convince you that your baby needs formula.

I feel sad that we live in a society where this is even necessary, which is another thing I hope my blog accomplishes- normalizing breastfeeding. By doing simple things like nursing in front of others, posting pictures of breastfeeding, and just being another mom who breastfeeds, we are normalizing breastfeeding. It’s a slow process, but it’s worth it.

So, this is how I hope I help other moms. Of course, I give individual moms advice whenever I can. I try to tell everyone that I know who is having a baby that they can ask me questions any time because I love to help. But this is my main place where I help breastfeeding moms. I hope that I am creating another source online where moms can get good information and give them some courage too. Yes, this blog has morphed into many things, but this is where it all started and where my main purpose still lies. To help breastfeeding moms.

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

3 thoughts on “Why I Started This Blog

  1. The superhero rocks and reminds me of a series of books we have “Ladybug girl” who always says “Ladybug girl can do anything” whenever she, herself, is actually afraid. . .sometimes we need a little “made up” courage 🙂 Thanks for your passion!

Leave a Reply

