The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about your go-to breastfeeding resource. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 22nd through August 4th!
 


 

I didn’t discover The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding until I was pregnant with Twig. Until then, the internet was my main resource.

I had always assumed that the internet would be better because it has more up to the date information. It’s just a fact that you can’t update a whole book as easily as you can a web page. What I’ve come to figure out though is that more up to date doesn’t always mean better.

On the internet, there is a wealth of information-which is a double edged sword. Lots of information is great, but overwhelming. And a lot of the information is just plain wrong. Sometimes you just need the basics. Something tried and true. The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding is exactly that.

I got it from the library for information on tandem nursing. To be honest, that section is a little lacking (though it’s so different for each mom, so I understand it not being so extensive). What made me decide to buy it was everything else.

Day by day guides, answers to more problems than I can even think of, and especially those tear sheets at the back of the book. It’s all just so wonderful.

So I bought a copy (and to put it into perspective, I don’t buy that many books) and it was a valuable resource when Twig was small. I had been through it before, but there are so many little things that you just forget between having your first baby and second. I found the Magic Baby Hold to be helpful in the evening when nothing would calm her down.

I lent out the book to a friend a few times when they had small babies and I was happy to help. Every time though, I’d miss my copy. Something would come up and I would think “Oh if I could just look this up really quick.” Or I’d be writing a blog post and want to use it as a reference. Or even once I used it as an example in one of my public speeches for school.

I love this book so much that one day I would like to include one in each of my breastfeeding baskets. We are lucky enough that our local La Leche League is donating a copy for the breastfeeding basket that I’m making for the Ogden Mini Cafe and Big Latch On (come join us one week from today!).

So if you’re a mom looking for your go-to resource, check out this book. It’s worth it.

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

One thought on “The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding

Leave a Reply

