Newsletter – August 2013

Waiting for the sun to rise, one of the items on our Bucket List.

Waiting for the sun to rise, one of the items on our Bucket List.

Hey girls!

This last month marked the end of summer and the beginning of the school year for us. At the beginning of the month, we spent as much time possible doing our Summer Bucket List (we got almost all of it done before school started!) and as much time possible doing absolutely nothing. It was glorious. Then we spend the end of the month in school, which is fun but also means that we did virtually nothing else.

IMG_1643Peanut, you spent a lot of this month in a mood. I think you were excited and nervous about starting school, because now that it’s started the mood is gone. I also think that you needed a break from little sister and me. Truth be told, we were all starting to get on each other’s nerves as summer ended. At the same time, you told me last week that you wish Twig was born at the same time as you (twins, like two boys in your class) so you could be in class together. It was super cute!

IMG_1628You also burned yourself pretty bad this month (see picture). It seems like such a silly thing to document in a newsletter, but it was a pretty traumatizing event! I know mama won’t be forgetting it anytime soon. We got out of the car and I was opening the hatch to get our bags out. You were talking to me and leaned up against the tail pipe. You got a second degree burn and mama freaked out. It’s healed by now, but still very pink. I don’t know if you’ll end up with a scar.

You also started singing along to songs on the radio. You’ve been doing it for a while, but now you’ll sing the whole thing. Even if you don’t know the words, you’ll sing whatever you think the words may be. It’s really awesome. Every day when we’re driving to or from school, you ask for “na-na” which is Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. Since I keep forgetting to upload the actual CD to my phone, we mostly listen to it on You Tube on my phone. The second that first note plays, Twig starts freaking out. And, of course, you sing the whole chorus. It’s so ridiculously cute!

IMG_1680And lastly, you started preschool, of course! You’re already loving it. As I said before, you were a bit nervous, but now you can’t wait to go every day. You think your teachers are great and you’re making lots of new friends. At home we worked a lot on writing and I found this awesome little board you can write on. You’re fascinated about what height each letter is supposed to be. This is one that you wrote a couple weeks ago. At preschool we also found out that you’re super fast. When you all exercise outside, you almost always win the races. Keep this up and you’ll have to do track!

You're still an animal lover. I don't think the duck wants a hug though.

You’re still an animal lover. I don’t think the duck wanted a hug though.

Twig, you’re starting to talk a lot more. It’s awesome. You started saying “eye!” (hi), “la-ooo” (love you), and “nuss” (nurse) towards the beginning of the month. The love you is my favorite and you say it to daddy as he’s going off to work most days (though still haven’t said it to me when I leave sadly). Towards the end of the month you started saying ow and “da!” (stop). The ow is really funny because you’ll say it at any little thing now. Every time I brush your hair, you say “ow” with each stroke of the brush, whether or not there are knots. And stop is usually because you want us to stop doing something like tickling you or even sometimes when you want me to stop and wait for you while I’m walking.

You also started saying “apple” at the beginning of the month. For the first few days, you’d say it whenever I asked you to (see video below). Once everyone started asking you to say it though (I sent the video to all the grandparents), you decided you weren’t going to say it anymore! You literally have not said apple since. Not when I request you saying it. Not when you want one. Never! You’re definitely not stubborn. 😛

Nursing while shopping for clothes for mama.

Nursing while shopping for clothes for mama.

Lastly, we went through your 18 month sleep regression this month. Oh goodness that was hard! I was happy that it happened before school started though, because mama is sleeping a ton since then and I don’t think I could deal with you not sleeping on top of my brain being so tired! I think upping my supply helped get us past the regression and it’s also helping now that you’re nursing more in the evening and night with me being gone in the day. I’m happy that I was able to wait until you’re this old to leave you when I go to school (as opposed to going online only). I can’t imagine what it would be like if we couldn’t just skip our morning/early afternoon nursing sessions.

I know that these next few months are going to be busy ones, so I’m not sure how well I’ll keep up with these newsletters. I’ll try really hard to keep doing them though. Hopefully we get to have a lot of fun interspersed with the stress of the school year!

Until next month,

Mama

One thought on “Newsletter – August 2013

Leave a Reply

