Cranberry Montessori

When we were at the grocery store the other day, I saw that fresh cranberries were on sale. I hadn’t ever had fresh cranberries before, so I decided to be adventurous and try them out. WOW, those things are tart. So I asked friends on Facebook what their favorite cranberry recipes were so that we could use them up without eating them straight. When one of my friends posted this recipe, I had to try it out. Oh man, these muffins are good. So good that I don’t want to limit them to when cranberries are season. Freezing cranberries it is!

After freezing them on a sheet, I brought them out to put them into 1 cup baggies and stick them back in the freezer. Twig was fascinated! So I decided to turn it into a Montessori scooping activity! Yay for real life experiences!

I know this one is blurry, but I love this face! She was so excited about putting them in the cup!

I know this one is blurry, but I love this face! She was so excited about putting them in the cup!

IMG_2064

IMG_2069

She loved it. It was less messy when I put the cup on the tray (though she kept moving it back off). She also got a bit frustrated towards the end when there weren’t many on the tray.

She got a kick out of it and I got my berries put away. So, yet another reason to let your kids help in the kitchen, learning to scoop!

Leave a Reply

