Matching Sister Fingerless Mitts

I’ve had my eye on these Sucky Thumb Mitts for ages. Aren’t fingerless gloves on kids just darling?! Well I decided to knit some up for the girls, thinking maybe they’d stay on better than regular old mittens because certain children *cough*Twig*cough* wouldn’t get upset about not being able to use their fingers. And, of course just because I can, I decided to make them each a matching pair!

I bought the yarn a couple months ago thinking it was sock yarn. Yeah, I should have looked at it closer. Turns out it was Sport weight. It was next to the sock yarns and the same brand! Oh well, it made super cute gloves instead! The problem is that the pattern is written for you to use bigger yarn if you want to make bigger sizes and, obviously given the matching part of this, I wanted to use the same yarn for both. So I decided to modify the pattern to use Sport weight yarn for preschooler hands.

It turned out great! I was surprised to note that they didn’t need to be any bigger around than Twig’s mitts even with the almost 3 years between them. So I mostly just elongated the mitts so they’d cover Peanut’s hand properly. Here’s the modified pattern:

Cast on the same amount of stitches (32)
K1P1 for 15 rounds
Round 1: Knit
Round 2: K15, M1, K2, M1, K15
Round 3: Knit
Round 4: K15, M1, K4, M1, K15
Round 5: Knit
Round 6: K15, M1, K6, M1, K15
Round 7: Knit
Round 8: K15, M1, K8, M1, K15
Round 9: Knit
Round 10: K15, bind off 10, K15
Round 11: K15, backward loop cast on 2 stitches, K15
Rounds 12-15: Knit
K1P1 for 10 rounds
Bind off in K1P1

The only other modification I made to the pattern is using a backward loop cast on to fill in the gap above the thumb rather than knitting front and back. I just how it looks better. I used Premier Yarns Serenity Garden in Mountain Heather, which was surprisingly nice to knit. Peanut hardly takes her off (so much so that we had to specify that she must take them off before eating and wiping her bum). Twig kind of keeps them on.

IMG_2102

2 thoughts on “Matching Sister Fingerless Mitts

  1. I can attest to the fact that twig never wants to take hers off. When she slept over she had to wear them to bed then freaked out when she woke and only had one on. Thank goddess it was an easy find. I honestly don’t know how you ever get to wash them, maybe let her wear them in the bath? Lol. She certainly loves her gloves. Mema

Leave a Reply

