Sunday Surf: Preparing for the Babe

Sunday Surf with Authentic Parenting and Hobo MamaI’m joining Authentic Parenting and Hobo Mama for Sunday Surf. Share your best reading of the week, and link up your post at either blog!

For more great reading, visit Hobo Mama or Authentic Parenting for the latest Sunday Surf and linky.

Happy Surfing!

With this babe’s arrival around a week away (given my prior pregnancies gestational length), I’m hoping to start participating in some more Sunday Surf posts in the near future. From what I remember (and it’s not a lot!), I do a lot of reading and “hmmm…. that’s really interesting” during the first few months after baby is born, but not a whole lot of intelligent, unique thought. Even now at my incredibly pregnant state it’s just hard to get my brain to function in a way that makes sense to others. So I’m going to start keeping track of the interesting things I read throughout the week and posting them as part of the Sunday Surf! Then I can keep in touch with you lovely folks while still being in my post-baby haze.

Most recent pregnancy picture: 38 Weeks 3 Days

Daddy changing the brakes on the van while Twig changes the brakes on her car.

Peanut’s first day of kindergarten!

Race and the Babywearing Community from Manic Pixie Dream Mama. Some interesting thoughts on how mamas of color are viewed when babywearing as opposed to white women. I love all of her suggestions for how we can open the babywearing community to mamas of color.

We’re getting hysterical about child safety from The Daily Mail. I’ve already voiced how much I love Free-range Kids and this is along those same lines. It even has this awesome quote from Lenore.

“There’s been this huge cultural shift,” Ms. Skenazy told Ms. Brooks, who sought her out. “… This shift is not rooted in fact. It’s not rooted in any true change. It’s imaginary. It’s rooted in irrational fear.”

One of our Breastfeeding Cafes stirred up a bit of controversy. I’m honestly pretty happy about the comments from the Police Chief. Smart man upholding the law.

And we can end with a funny. Breastfeeding In Public Should No Longer Be A Taboo For Mothers Who Are Conventionally Attractive from Clickhole.

And don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a handknit wool diaper cover knitted by no other than ME!

Leave a Reply

