Sunday Surf – Latching On

Sunday Surf with Authentic Parenting and Hobo MamaI’m joining Authentic Parenting and Hobo Mama for Sunday Surf. Share your best reading of the week, and link up your post at either blog!

For more great reading, visit Hobo Mama or Authentic Parenting for the latest Sunday Surf and linky.

Happy Surfing!

In case you missed it, Banana is here! It’s a boy! Yay!

With the arrival of this little man, Lactating Girl is officially lactating again! I’ve been happy to be back at it after a 6 month hiatus, but it hasn’t been that easy this time around. We’re still working on perfecting our latch, so today I’m sharing the links I’m found helpful over the last week.

Nursing at just under 24 hours old.

Nursing while taking a cosleeping nap with Twig (who loves to touch his head).

Breastfeeding your newborn — what to expect in the early weeks from Kellymom.com. Banana, after pooping meconium three times in the first day, did not poop for another two days. It had me a bit worried and this information from Kellymom helped me know what to expect and keep calm. Of course he did finally poop (a lot) and he’s been a pooping champ ever since.

Healing Tips for Nipple Cracks or Abrasions from Kellymom.com. I realized on Sunday that I had a crack on one of my nipples. This info helped me to heal it as well as realize it meant that there was a bigger issue going on (latch in our case). We’ve been working on solving the cause as well as the crack and it’s going much better now.

When Latching from BreastFeeding Inc. The pictures here were super useful for reminding me that baby actually needs to be latched on the lower part of the breast rather than in the center. The things you can forget in 6 months!

Breastfeeding Videos from BreastFeeding Inc. This is a whole host of videos showing all things good and bad about breastfeeding. If you’re having a particular issue or don’t know if something is normal, watching these videos can help.

Deep Latch Technique from The Pump Station and Nurtury. Once I realized latch was an issue, I had to remind myself of what a good latch is. This site has pictures of a wonderful way to get baby to latch on that has been the biggest help for me with getting a correct latch. I’ve found that basically latching onto the bottom half of my areola and flicking in my nipple at the last moment (done easiest if wet) works great.

And last but not least, the winner of the wool diaper cover is Kerresa! Congrats! I’ll be sure to share a photo of the cover she designs before it ships out to her.

Leave a Reply

