Classroom Bean Bag Toss Valentines Game

So I’ve been volunteering in Peanut’s classroom on Fridays for the past few weeks. I’ve mostly been helping the struggling readers, which is surprisingly rewarding, but yesterday was the big Valentines Day party, so I was asked to make a game. After looking around Pinterest at all the great ideas (and there are plenty!), I just wasn’t finding what I wanted, so I decided to make my own! A bean bag toss!

The construction is simple. We just went by a local furniture store and grabbed a box out of their recycling (after calling and asking, of course) that seemed big enough. We painted one side pink (some leftover house paint, but acrylic would do) and let it dry. Then I cut out hearts with a box cutter and Peanut painted those while I painted around the rims. I cut off the top of the box so that we could reach the bean bags easily and I used one of the pieces to make the legend on the side (really only necessary for the more advanced game, so if you’re making this for a toddler you can leave this out). I hot glued the legend and all the hearts on. For the bean bags, I followed this basic idea, but left out the sewing around the edges because I didn’t care if they looked pretty.

If you’re making the game for a toddler or preschooler, you can stop here. My friend’s almost 3 year old came over right after I finished making it and he had a ball just throwing the bean bags through the holes. For Peanut’s kindergarten class though, I made this worksheet to do some math while they played. In the hearts you write the number of points scored for each toss (total of 4 tosses), then add them up. Repeating shapes mean that you write the number again so you can continue adding and get your overall score. It ended up being too complicated for kindergarteners though (Peanut could do it at home when I tested, but I didn’t account for the fact that there would be 5 different kids needing help adding at the same time), so I modified it on the go. I had them do one round of everyone just tossing the bean bags, then I started calling out colors for them to aim at while tossing. The kids really enjoyed the extra level of it.

Happy Valentines Day!

 

Leave a Reply

