Meal Plans and Food Waste

Have you guys heard of Super Healthy Kids? They’re pretty awesome. These ladies make food that is healthy and kids enjoy. Well, they do a pre-planned meal plan that we’ve been trying for a review (look for that coming up soon!). I’ve been really enjoying it, but there has been a bit of a learning curve.

A big part of that learning curve has been food waste. It’s always an issue for me when I meal plan, to be honest. When I’m not meal planning, we just eat whatever is there. We make what we have work, so not a ton ends up wasted. When going by a meal plan, I have to be much more conscious of what’s already in the fridge. I also have to work around meals getting skipped because life gets in the way. One day we’re invited to dinner by our parents. Another day we decide we really want to order a pizza. Normal things that I do try to plan for, but some things don’t give me a week forewarning.

So I decided to start holding myself accountable again by showing the internet our food waste. Hopefully this gives me an extra push to get everything used up in the fridge before it goes bad.

This week we have three items. First, the clementines. Three little clementines that got past their prime.

Next item on the list doesn’t have a photo because I forgot. I was pretty upset about these, actually. You see, as part of the meal plan I made muffins last Saturday for breakfast. They were on a bag on the counter, which is generally how I store muffins that I’m not freezing. They never stick around long enough to get moldy, but a combination of not eating these fast enough and the muffins growing a tiny spot of mold sooner than they generally would (they were particularly moist) meant about a half dozen went in the trash.

Lastly, this poor little avocado. I’m the only one in my family that really likes avocados. Thanks to the meal plan, I’m finding out a lot of different ways my family will tolerate them. Still though, I haven’t been using them nearly as fast as I should be by meal plan standards. This is not our first avocado casualty in the recent past.

So there you go! Other than these three things, we’re doing pretty good. We’re on track to use up (hopefully) all our leftovers and all the produce in our fridge is looking good. I did have a few wins this week with substituting items that needed to be used. And of course our bunny does a good job of eating not only the scraps, but also the produce that isn’t completely bad. She got a whole romaine lettuce heart this week! Lucky bunny!

Leave a Reply

