Newsletter – March 2015

Hi You Three!

March was another great month. Lots of time outside, lots of fun inside, and we even got our Lagoon season passes at the end of the month. We had a week-long spring break from Peanut’s school, so we got to just hang out and do whatever we wanted every day. It made me really look forward to summer. Of course this month was Peanut’s birthday and we celebrated by going out to her birthday dinners, the Natural History Museum of Utah, and watching Harry Potter all day (a girl after my own heart).

Writing your name for the first time.

Twig, you’re turning into a real person. Three is a hard age, but it’s also a cool age. You’re just making leaps and bounds in that little head of yours and I see how much you’re changing every day. You’re leaving toddlerhood behind and becoming a kid. One day this month when I was unbuckling your car seat I realized that you had an eyelash that had fallen out. I got it on my finger and told you to make a wish, then we pressed our fingers together to see who got their wish (whoever gets the eyelash). I didn’t really expect you to get it, but when I asked what you had wished for, you said a Daniel Tiger movie. That’s a real wish! You got it the eyelash by the way, so better get on that PBS. Another good example is when we were saying goodnight one night and I said something along the lines of “I love you to the moon.” We were going back and forth saying different places that we love each other to, then you said “I love you to my nose.” and started to laugh. You actually got that it would be funny. And it was funny!

 You’re making even more strides with letters. I decided to try it out just to see if you could and it turns out you can match most of the capitalized letters to their lowercase counterparts. You also love it when I read to you. You’ve always loved reading, but it’s a whole new level. I’m pretty sure that we could read all day every day and you’d be happy. You do get a bit bored when Peanut and I read chapter books, but you still listen along and want me to read them to both of you, just while you’re sometimes wandering off to do different things. And lastly, you nighttime potty trained this month. I expected it to be a big hassle of constantly changing wet sheets, but you’ve been good from the start. I think you’ve only had a full on accident (and a few wake-up-mid-pee accidents) once in the month you’ve been diaper-free at night.

Your poor nose.

Banana, you’re really zooming now. You spent the last part of last month in the “aww, he’s crawling!” stage and starting off this month with “How did you get to the dog water that fast again?!” You are getting into everything. You would think that three kids in our house would be pretty baby-proofed, but you’re still finding plenty to get that I don’t particularly want you to have. A downside to your newfound ability to crawl is that you keep falling on your face. Your poor nose actually got a blood blister (or something of that sort) that popped and it looked so sore. It never seemed to bother you though. And I’ve figured out that I have to get your pjs off immediately when you wake up so you don’t trip all over them. You still fall over quite a bit, but not as much.

Pulling yourself to stand at the bottom of the stairs.

One of your favorite things is to make noises with your mouth. I don’t know why, but one day you were getting upset and I started bouncing my hand on your mouth to make “ub-bub-bub-bub” noises. You loved it! So much so that you started doing it with your own hand too. It’s really cute. Here’s a video.

Peanut, you spent this whole month telling people that your birthday was coming up, then once it passed you told them how many days ago it was. You also told everyone who would listen that you were having a “My Neighbor Totoro/Kiki’s Delivery Service/Spirited Away/Ponyo” birthday party. You’re still loving Studio Ghibli. Honestly, we all love them.

You also have a newfound love of climbing trees.

This month you’ve started doing something that really excites me–reading for pleasure. You spend most of your quite time these days reading Elephant and Piggie books (your absolute favorite). Of course you still love it when we read to you (currently mama is reading you Matilda and dad is reading you The Hobbit), but it’s just so cool that you want to read all by yourself too. You’ll even read books to Twig sometimes, which I can tell is just the start of an awesome reading relationship.

Love you three!

Mama

Leave a Reply

