Emergency Bags

As I was, once again, pulling something out of an emergency bag in my car tonight, it occurred to me that I’ve never shared this on the blog. We’ve been using them for years, so I’m honestly not sure where I originally got the idea. I have a feeling. It stems from my “ah an earthquake is coming!” phase of crazy that I went through postpartum with Twig. Not saying planning for a natural disaster is crazy, just that I was a little bit obsessively crazy postpartum and for a bit I fixated on that.

Anyway. So emergency bags. I can’t even count the amount of times that these things have been used. I tend to bring too many things when we leave the house, yet there’s still always times that I’ve forgotten something. I guess that’s just life when you have three tiny people to manage out the door! And when I forget something, something that would normally really suck to forget, it’s no big deal. I have emergency bags!

What’s in them? For the bigger kids (one for each) it’s:

  • Pants
  • Shirts
  • Undies (multiple pairs)
  • Socks
  • Sweater
  • Pjs
  • Blanket (though these aren’t actually in the bag, we just keep them in the car for when they get cold)

For the baby, all of the above plus:

  • Diapers (just a few)
  • Blankets
  • Burp rags (for younger babies)
  • Baby carrier (my least favorite sling, better than nothing)

I make sure they’re the right size and weather appropriate when I switch clothes over for new seasons or sizes. Like I said, these things get used like crazy. And I usually stock them with the less-than-ideal outfits (a hazard of hand-me-downs) so it’s not like the clothes are missed.

I also keep a general emergency bag with stuff for everyone in the family and a few things for specifically my husband and myself:

  • Water bottles (I try to avoid using these so they’re available for a true emergency)
  • Pullover (that either of us could wear)
  • Receiving blankets (great for messes)
  • Shirt for my husband
  • Shirt and cardigan for me
  • Grocery bags (great for holding dirty clothes)
  • Huge ziplock bags (for puking, right on top)

And that’s it! It seems like a lot, but really it doesn’t take up much space. It worked well when we were in a car and even better now that we’re in the van. They fit perfectly right under the seats!

Do you keep emergency bags in your car? Feel free to add to my lists if you think I’ve missed something!

Leave a Reply

